Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this cake today,and it is an o.k. cake, i was disappointed nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
The gals at Bible study loved this. I think I'll try a different topping next time. Perhaps one mixed with butter and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
My son has been begging me to make a coffee cake so I went on here and decided to take chance on this recipe which doesn't have all that many reviewers but sounded just about right with the ingredients. First of all, this batter was extremely thick, almost like cookie batter so you'll have to spread it in your pan to flatten it out. I made it this morning and immediately baked it and it turned out perfectly. I'm not sure if leaving the batter in the fridge overnight would make much of a difference besides having the convenience of not having to do all the work in the morning but the cake was moist and very flavorful as is. I had no problems with over sweetness or the batter being too moist. Stick to the 9 x 13 inch pan. Any smaller and you'll definitely have to bake it for a longer time and will have a taller cake. Nutmeg isn't a flavor that I've tasted in traditional coffee cakes so I just used 1/2 tsp nutmeg and subbed 1/2 cinnamon for the other 1/2 tsp. It turned out great. I'm sure this recipe will eventually turn into a 500 reviewed favorite recipe. Thanks to It's a New Day for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this for the family this morning and the all loved it. I added a half tsp. of cinnamon, a tsp. and a half of vanilla extract, and a couple of swigs of buttermilk to the batter. It was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
We love this recipe. My 10 year old requested it for his birthday breakfast! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was pleasantly surprised with this and received some nice compliments. I made it exactly as written except for using cinnamon instead of nutmeg in the cake. Having to assemble this after making Christmas Eve dinner for family & friends, I measured all the dry ingredients ahead of time and put them in baggies in the pan I was going to use so all I had to do was add them to the wet ingredients and sprinkle the already mixed topping. I made this along with an egg breakfast casserole putting them both in the oven at the same time and cut up fresh fruit. It was an easy breakfast to serve while opening gifts! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very easy to make and tastes pretty good but I felt it lacked strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Awesome for making ahead. Moist and tasty. Easy to adapt fillings and spice. Made in a bunt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Good...nutmegy taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good. Made for my office staff. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States