Make-Ahead Pizza Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I used homemade marinara in this recipe and Stove Top Savory Herb stuffing. I chose to make one big loaf out of this recipe in my Perfect Meatloaf pan. My meat loaf was done in an hour-twenty minutes. I served this with extra marinara on the side. My family LOVED this meat loaf--my husband ate what everyone else did not. NO leftovers. He did suggest that I add a half pound of ground pork next time and then it would be the "perfect" meat loaf for meat loaf sandwiches. As is, no complaints here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was another of those recipes I turned to when I needed something to make with mostly pantry staples and a few odds and ends left in the fridge before I headed out of town on a trip. I knew when I read through it that it would be a great start but would need embellishing. I added fresh minced garlic and fresh parsley, and used some pizza sauce for the meat mixture. I put a good sized "stick shaped" piece of mozzarella in the center to make it extra gooey and cheesey. For the sauce poured over the loaves I used a small, specialty jarred sauce with artichokes, mixed with some tomato sauce I had put up from my garden. Topped it all with some freshly grated Parmesan, baked it at 350 degrees, uncovered, 45 minutes, and served it over spaghetti tossed with garlic, olive oil and fresh chives. Hubby and I really enjoyed this quick and easy dish--a cross between spaghetti and meatballs, lasagna and meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These are really good. I used the string mozzarella cheese sticks and just wrapped the meat around them and that worked out well. Served it with spaghetti and garlic bread sticks. My family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was a HIT! The only thing I changed was that I didn't make them individual servings. I made up two loaf pans instead. We froze the leftovers in individual tubs (with the vegetables and pasta I made as well) and had our own healthy frozen meals for whenever we wanted them. We're out now; so I'll have to make some more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These have great flavor and were easy to prepare, I did use shredded cheese rather than a slice (all I had. Baked them on foil lined sheet but should have sprayed with pam they stuck a little, after baking put them in the rest of sauce and simmered 1/2 hr served with pasta and garlic bread everyone want's them again. thanks for a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This turned out to be a hit. It's a wonderful recipe for little ones who can be picky eaters, and you can modify the recipe to sneak some veggies in for them. My husband also called this the best meatloaf he's ever had...and he's a tough customer. I did make some important changes: I used a whole container of tomato sauce, rather than just 2/3 - to make it extra moist. I also used 1 extra egg. For more flavor kick and nutrition, I added chopped brocolli, and a1/2 cup of chopped garlic, as well as minced garlic. Also great served with some hot sauce for the grown ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
We made these into meatballs. Good tasting and easy...nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Used ground turkey instead of ground beef and 3/4 of a string cheese in the center. Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
OH MY GOODNESS! This was delicious! My two year old son & husband gobbled this right up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Meh. These were "allright." Neither my hubs or I were all that impressed (sorry!). Surprisingly, I felt these were terribly bland. My hubs' complaint was twofold - too much green pepper and more than one serving per loaf (this recipe yielded 6 mini loaves, but each one was at LEAST two servings worth). I think scaling this down a bit and omitting the bell pepper would have worked much better for us. A lb. of ground beef will EASILY yield 4 larger loaves or 6-8 smaller (single serving) ones. With sides, there was just too much food for two people to eat! NOTE: If you have string cheese on hand, use it (it works great!). Cut each stick in half. You'll only need 3 sticks total(assuming you follow this recipe exact). If you make 4 loaves, use 2 sticks or if you make smaller loaves, just cut each into thirds. Served with mashed potatoes, green beans and garlic butter crescents, this was "OK" meal. Thanks anyways, Campbells! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States