Make-Ahead Pizza Meat Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
We made these into meatballs. Good tasting and easy...nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This turned out to be a hit. It's a wonderful recipe for little ones who can be picky eaters, and you can modify the recipe to sneak some veggies in for them. My husband also called this the best meatloaf he's ever had...and he's a tough customer. I did make some important changes: I used a whole container of tomato sauce, rather than just 2/3 - to make it extra moist. I also used 1 extra egg. For more flavor kick and nutrition, I added chopped brocolli, and a1/2 cup of chopped garlic, as well as minced garlic. Also great served with some hot sauce for the grown ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These were great! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Used ground turkey instead of ground beef and 3/4 of a string cheese in the center. Just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was another of those recipes I turned to when I needed something to make with mostly pantry staples and a few odds and ends left in the fridge before I headed out of town on a trip. I knew when I read through it that it would be a great start but would need embellishing. I added fresh minced garlic and fresh parsley, and used some pizza sauce for the meat mixture. I put a good sized "stick shaped" piece of mozzarella in the center to make it extra gooey and cheesey. For the sauce poured over the loaves I used a small, specialty jarred sauce with artichokes, mixed with some tomato sauce I had put up from my garden. Topped it all with some freshly grated Parmesan, baked it at 350 degrees, uncovered, 45 minutes, and served it over spaghetti tossed with garlic, olive oil and fresh chives. Hubby and I really enjoyed this quick and easy dish--a cross between spaghetti and meatballs, lasagna and meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was a HIT! The only thing I changed was that I didn't make them individual servings. I made up two loaf pans instead. We froze the leftovers in individual tubs (with the vegetables and pasta I made as well) and had our own healthy frozen meals for whenever we wanted them. We're out now; so I'll have to make some more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These are really good. I used the string mozzarella cheese sticks and just wrapped the meat around them and that worked out well. Served it with spaghetti and garlic bread sticks. My family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These have great flavor and were easy to prepare, I did use shredded cheese rather than a slice (all I had. Baked them on foil lined sheet but should have sprayed with pam they stuck a little, after baking put them in the rest of sauce and simmered 1/2 hr served with pasta and garlic bread everyone want's them again. thanks for a simple and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States