Make Ahead Pie Crusts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'm on my second batch of these. They roll out beautifully and are easy to work with. I sometimes have to cover with foil in the last minutes of baking because they brown easily. The only difference in our recipes are mine calls for regular soda, not diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
20 cups of flour = 5lb bag
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charleroi, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the best! I make pies for a local restaurant and even my largest bulk recipe doesn;t come close to this one. I will be using this LOTS!!! Still a nice, flaky texture that handles well. thankyou for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Makes a delicious, flaky pie crust. Freezes very well. My family ranted and raved about how good this crust was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is my third time to use this recipe and I sincerely hope it is better with the modifications I have made. The two previous batches were made exactly as directed but the resulting crusts were balls of grease...there is either TOO MUCH SHORTENING or TOO LITTLE FLOUR...same difference....additionally it needs salt. These are the changes I have made. 7 lbs flour, 3 lbs shortening, 2 T salt, 28 oz soda. Wish me good results as I REALLY need a good bulk pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Extremely easy. I cut this recipe down a lot in order to try it. I cut it to 5 servings and got about the amount needed for 5 crusts. I put four in the freezer and used one for a quiche. It worked perfectly . . .I think I may make more of this crust to hang out in the freezer for more quiche. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Wow, is this a lot of pie crusts... but very tasty and flaky, and they do freeze super well! The only thing I could complain about is finding a bowl/tub big enough to mix them in all at once, but it's really such a small thing to whine about when they're so convenient afterwards! ^_^ Five gold stars, two thumbs up, and thank you so much for the time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
While this wouldn't impress the avid baker in my family, it is perfect for me! On a busy night it's ideal to thaw for a quick quiche or pot pie. Just make sure to make the "baseballs" big enough. I made them too small my first try so had to use two per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I looked at this and was a bit taken back and then I read the reviews. I am horrified and offend to the Author of this submission by the 2 or 3 moron's who had the audacity to rate and comment of a recipe they had not even tried. I too have a master in Culinary Arts from a well know and well rated top Culinary School. There is NOTHING wrong with this recipe. After reading the mostly 5 Star reviews I am bound and determined to make it as soon as humanly possible. Shame on you few that are so ignorant. Thank you to our submitter it looks as it you helped a lot of people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I am on my second batch now only because I have time to. I made a batch June 29th of this year and ran out ( not knowing my other half was using them for his pies.lol)right before Thanksgiving. I had to get store bought for the last pie. I am glad in a way that happened as it showed me the BIG difference in taste & texture. SUPERMOMOF4's was by far better all around.The store bought came out doughy tasting even though it was cooked the same way as this recipe. SUPERMOF4'S was flaky and had a wonderful taste(all I had was reg. Sprite). I did some balls but also put them right into a pie pan and froze them.(so much easier & quicker to making pies). I used my Foodsaver to vacuum seal it. Everyone mentioned how light and flaky the crust was. This is my pie crust from now on. Thank you SUPERMOMF4 for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by truckersmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States