Make-Ahead Moroccan Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is one of the most delicious soup/stew recipes I have ever made! I've made it several times, and I always make extra to freeze a family-sized portion. Making the spice mixture in bulk is a great idea. It saves a lot of time and we love Moroccan lamb burgers using this mixture too. I have also found this recipe to be very forgiving. I've omitted items, added stuff like kale and zucchini, tweaked the spices when I was out of one, and substituted dried cranberries, figs and raisins for the apricots in a pinch. I’ve also used less broth to make it more hearty, and served it over rice and couscous. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
pretty good, but way too sweet for me and too oily. i added more broth, more salt and next time i will use a lean ground turkey. also, one sweet potato was definitely plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I added a big parsnip, I only had one sweet potato so I added two small russet potatoes, and I thickened the liquid by adding flour to the ground lamb and onions, just before adding the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Balfour_Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Loved it! Just what I was looking for this snowy weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is a great recipe ... definitely a bi-weekly repeater! I used red lentils. I forgot to get the dried apricots, so added half a jar of apricot jam. I also added 1/2 cup of Israeli couscous to thicken it a bit. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This is good as far as the tlavorings go although I would add a teaspoon or two of Harrisa (can be found in most Middle Eastern stores) and prefer my lamb in chunks rather than ground. Otherwise a really nic, tasty stew for a winter warmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Added fresh spinach to this recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Everybody in the family absolutely loved this soup. I'm sure we'll be making it again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States