Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I thought this was a very good recipe considering you could make it the night before. The only modification I made was to add a couple of tablespoons of butter and a little cheddar cheese. When I served them on Thanksgiving I cooked in the oven first and then transferred to the slowcooker to keep warm. Thanks so much for the recipe, I will most likely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was a great recipe!! The mashed potatoes were a hit for Thanksgiving, the only thing I had to do differently was add more milk and salt. I made them the day before Thanksgiving and then just reheated them in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I make these every year for Thanksgiving. I make the potatoes on Wednesday, and instead of baking them on Thanksgiving, I put them in the crockpot about 2 hours before dinner time. They are hot and taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I also have made a similar recipe for years, but my recipe calls for 1 TBSP of minced onion rather than the onion salt and 1/2 tsp seasoned salt. And only as much milk as you want for the right consistency. I like to drizzle the butter over the top, but being weight conscious I only use a tablespoon instead of what the recipe calls for. Add a sprinkling of paprika on top before you bake and it gives a pretty looking finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
These were good potatos. I think how they can be made in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fordham, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I have used this recipe for many, many years (it is a standby), but I have also made changes, e.g. used yoghurt rather than sour cream, mayonnaise instead of sour cream, but did not add the milk. Always grate in at least 3 cloves of fresh garlic. Lots of possibilities with this recipe. My son-in-law (who is an excellent cook) adds fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
These were fabulous, i added more cream cheese and instead of onion salt i used garlic salt...yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Liked the Yukon Golds and the make-ahead aspect of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Delicious and very easy. Really cuts down on preparation stress for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Made these for Christmas Eve, it's a keeper! Only difference is that I used Russets as we don't care for yellow potatoes. Using again for Easter--went mad looking for the recipe as I didn't keep a copy of it -- learned the hard way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States