Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Such a time saver, and the potatoes were the hit of the meal! I made them a few days ahead, stored them in a large zip lock bag in the fridge and then warmed them up in the Crockpot on Thanksgiving Day. If I do it again, I may reduce the amount of milk only because the crockpot caused them to get a little runny. Still, it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisa Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was very bland for my taste. Maybe tomorrow when I add gravy it'll spruce it up...but it certainly cannot stand on it's own without gravy, as a couple of the other reviews stated. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiphane Kostakis Moore
Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family only wants these potatoes for holidays. I tried this recipe because you can do it ahead and that way you can concentrate on other things the day of. I am handicapped and it has been awesome not to overdue it during dinners. THey love the taste and we had different cheeses to change it up depending on the occasion. I have double and tripled this recipe and put it in zip lock bags to freeze. Freeze in different size bags depending on how many you will be serving. For one days work you can have alot of sides for meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Lorenzo-Carey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made these for my daughter's birthday dinner. Followed the recipe except used 1 teaspoon of minced garlic in the water while boiling the potatoes. Also used half and half for the milk. My family raved after them. This will definitely be a holiday keeper! Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I usually make my mashed potatoes this way. The only difference is that I heat up the cream cheese, sour cream and milk before I add them in. A trick my Grandmother taught me is to add 1 teaspoon of baking powder to the mashed potatoes and they puff up and become light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this thanksgiving morning. Instead of baking the potatoes I just mixed everything together in my crock pot dish and stored it in the fridge. A few hours before dinner I warmed them in the crock pot on high and they were amazing. Best mashed potatoes I've ever had. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made this recipe this morning for Thanksgiving and after mixing potatos,cream cheese and butter I found that I didn't need any milk, they seemed a little running. Also didn't add the sour cream. Have them in the crockpot to keep warm till dinner and hoping they will stiffen up some while waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
We've been making a very similar recipe for years. This is great if you need to prepare ahead for Christmas or Thanksgiving. I would highly doubt if anyone would be able to tell they weren't mashed that very day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I have been using this recipe for mashed pots for years. The order in which you add ingredients matters in this recipe. If you like creamy mashed potatoes, mash the potatoes first, by themselves, then add the remaining ingredients. Also, to take these over the top, sauté grated or finely chopped onion in butter, and add to potatoes with cream cheese and sour cream (1/2 medium onion to 3-4 tablespoons butter). So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
These are awesome potatoes, and oh, so easy! Love being able to have this side dish ready ahead. I make them ahead, and keep them in the refrigerator. I've reheated them both ways...in the oven and in the crock pot and they are wonderful either way. I've also doubled the batch and frozen a pan for later use. Used russets instead of Yukon gold~~everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States