Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. Saves lots of time on busy days. I've made this recipe using the crock pot and oven, and both ways yield fantastic potatoes. I added pats of butter to the top before baking. In the crock pot, I heated on low for about 6 hours (for 14 serving) and they were piping hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I don't only love this recipe, I'm grateful for it! It removes the mess, work and time of mashed potatoes the day of and keeps the kitchen so much neater. Have done these two different ways...both stored in the frig overnight: 1) in a crock pot and then heated 4 hours on low before the dinner - perfectly done. 2) in a greased casserole dish and heated in the oven. I like the crock pot so I don't use up the oven space. Both ways were terrific. MUST use the buttery tasting Yukons or else increase butter/milk to avoid a dry consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! This cut down on so much hustle right as the turkey was coming out of the oven that I don't think I can ever go back to regular mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for the first time on Thanksgiving and my family ust loved it! It saved so much time to be able to prepare them the day before! My family has requested them again for Christmas dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving exactly as the recipe states because I had never made potatoes ahead before and was skeptical. I put it in a crockpot liner in the frig overnight and as it warmed it was still way too thick. I pulled out a handheld mixer and whipped in some milk until it had a nice consistancy. They were a hit!! I will make them again to save time and space in the oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Love the flavor. Divided it up for Christmas. For the adult one I added chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I rate this one a five star because you can freeze them up to a month before you use them. Just take them out of the freezer and put them in the fridge the night before you want them. I always use red potatoes. Most potatoes go watery when frozen but not these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I USE IT SEVERAL TIMES.... I USE EITHER THE WHITE OR RED POTATOES, NOT THE YUKONS..... DEE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
These are great! My husband has to have these every year for Thanksgiving! Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this for a Sunday supper, and wanted to get the potatoes out of the way so I could relax before the pot roast was done. This was the answer to not having to time the potatoes to be done right with dinner! These are great even if you don't bake them a second time - I keep stealing bites after they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States