Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Really good! After assembling, I put them in my crock pot dish and refrigerated overnight. I reheated in the crock pot for several hours with a few pats of butter on top. Would never have had time to make mashed potatoes on Christmas day otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I use a recipe very similar to this one but with a few changes. I don't use any milk but use two sticks of margarine instead. After boiling peeled potatos, I place all ingredients in a large bowl and use an electric mixer to combine ingredients and make them very fluffy. I don't use any onion salt either, just lots of pepper and salt. I don't ever bake mine either. If making ahead, I put them in a microwave safe caserole bowl and microwave them for about 10-15 minutes prior to serving. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Make these every Thanksgiving now. So good and helps doing them ahead. I usually put a couple of cloves of garlic in the pot when I boil the potoes and then just mash them right in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
DELICIOUS!!! I made this recipe a couple of days before Thanksgiving & kept the potatoes in the refrigerator til the morning of - then reheated them in my crock pot until ready to serve. Received rave reviews -even from my son-in-law who considers himself a mashed potato connoisseur.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
The last minute hassle of mashed potatoes on Thanksgiving has come to an end. I have made this recipe two years in a row and my guests have asked me to promise it will stay on the menu. I used onion salt the first time and found the taste a bit processed. This year I replaced with a few cloves of roasted garlic and some butter sauteed rosemary. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Sai Kung, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
The name of this recipe caught my attention first, because I needed something convenient for Thanksgiving. But the taste is what kept my attention! This went right into my recipe box. These are the creamiest, most wonderful mashed potatoes! I didn't make any changes to the recipe, followed it exactly and it is wonderful! Thank you for this keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I also have made a similar recipe for years, but my recipe calls for 1 TBSP of minced onion rather than the onion salt and 1/2 tsp seasoned salt. And only as much milk as you want for the right consistency. I like to drizzle the butter over the top, but being weight conscious I only use a tablespoon instead of what the recipe calls for. Add a sprinkling of paprika on top before you bake and it gives a pretty looking finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I doubled the recipe for Thanksgiving. They tasted good, alothough they were a little "soupy". I think I would check the consistency before adding all of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Rich, creamy and oh so delicious! This is certainly comfort food at it's best! But, the very best part about this recipe is the fact that you can "Make it Ahead" of time which is a real life-saver around the holidays! I didn't bother baking this in a casserole because my oven was doing all the work with the rest of the meal. I simply put this in my crock pot on low in order to reheat and serve. Definitely not for those counting calories and something you want to save for special occasions - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I made these for Thanksgiving diner (Canada) on Monday and they were a big hit. What a great time saver. I will substitute fat free cream cheese and fat free sour cream the next time I make them and see how they turn out. I think keeping a container of them in the freezer would be a great idea. These tasted great without gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States