Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were ok...I give it 4 stars for the flavor and ease of doing it ahead of time. However, I thought the texture was lacking. Maybe I just don't like Yukon Gold Potatoes; they seem "gummy" to me. Or maybe I mixed everything too much? I may try it again using regular old russets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was too soupy. Didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is the absolute BEST mashed potatoes recipe ever! Love that it's made ahead! The only recipe I ever use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suki's mommy
Living In: Thornton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe. Saves lots of time on busy days. I've made this recipe using the crock pot and oven, and both ways yield fantastic potatoes. I added pats of butter to the top before baking. In the crock pot, I heated on low for about 6 hours (for 14 serving) and they were piping hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I don't only love this recipe, I'm grateful for it! It removes the mess, work and time of mashed potatoes the day of and keeps the kitchen so much neater. Have done these two different ways...both stored in the frig overnight: 1) in a crock pot and then heated 4 hours on low before the dinner - perfectly done. 2) in a greased casserole dish and heated in the oven. I like the crock pot so I don't use up the oven space. Both ways were terrific. MUST use the buttery tasting Yukons or else increase butter/milk to avoid a dry consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! This cut down on so much hustle right as the turkey was coming out of the oven that I don't think I can ever go back to regular mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for the first time on Thanksgiving and my family ust loved it! It saved so much time to be able to prepare them the day before! My family has requested them again for Christmas dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving exactly as the recipe states because I had never made potatoes ahead before and was skeptical. I put it in a crockpot liner in the frig overnight and as it warmed it was still way too thick. I pulled out a handheld mixer and whipped in some milk until it had a nice consistancy. They were a hit!! I will make them again to save time and space in the oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Love the flavor. Divided it up for Christmas. For the adult one I added chopped jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I rate this one a five star because you can freeze them up to a month before you use them. Just take them out of the freezer and put them in the fridge the night before you want them. I always use red potatoes. Most potatoes go watery when frozen but not these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni 77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States