Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. My hubby kept asking me if I was sure these potatoes would taste good the next day for our guests. Not only were they good, my guests ate them up so fast, I barely got a taste! Heating them up was so easy. I just popped them in the microwave for about 7 minutes on high, stopping once to stir. Once heated, I added the recommended butter and covered with plastic wrap until lunch time. They tasted divine! No one guessed they'd been cooked yesterday...and I certainly didn't tell! Oh, one more thing, pierce the potatoes with a fork a few times before boiling with skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving last year, but I did add extra butter and cream cheese, and they came out just fine. Actually, I think I made them the day/night before, and put them in my crockpot on low T-Day morning. They were hot when I was ready to serve.. I lost the recipes..came back here to find. Now that I think about it..I had some leftover cauliflower from a dinner the night before..I pureed that and added to the 'tatoes..noone noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABULADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made these as part of a meal that I was delivering to another family. I made turkey and gravy to go with the potatoes. The potatoes were outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly. I added a heaping teaspoon of salt. I think I have to make another batch for my family. I can't stop thinking about how yummy they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSWITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just wanted to say these potatoes were great. I didn't make them ahead of time though. I made them for Thanksgiving dinner and this is what I did and it worked great. I boiled them, drained off the water, and since they were done a little bit earlier than I thought they would be, I put the lid on the pan and set them aside. They will stay warm quite a while like that. Came back a few minutes later to peel and mash, but my daughter said I should leave the peel on the potatoes...my other daughter and grand daughter agreed with her so that's what I did. After mashing them, I put the butter on top of the potatoes and covered with lid. Just before it was time to eat, I put the pan on the stove on low heat while heating up the half and half, poured that over the potatoes, added salt and pepper and by the time the milk was stirred in real good, the potatoes were prefectly warm. Very good. And if you like potatoe peeling try leaving it on....I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I have more time in the mornings to prepare that night's dinner so I always make my mashed potatoes ahead of time this way. No one can ever tell the difference. I prefer to peel my taters before boiling and I use electric beaters to whip them to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Awesome and so easy!!!! Made my Thanksgiving so less stressful! I cooked the potatoes at 9am, mashed with half-and-half then left them in a crock pot on warm with a stick of butter on top. At noon I stirred in the butter and they were fluffy and hot to serve! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great Recipe, I added about 1/2 tsp minced garlic in oil when boiling the potatoes and then simmered it down before mashing. Other thyan that followed thr recipe for a great potato dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Great ideas and basic recipe for make ahead mashed potatoes! The recipe and tips on keeping the potatoes warm helped this busy cook during Thanksgiving! I made the recipe the night before Thanksgiving using white potatoes I peeled and cut before boiling. I then followed the recipe and instructions, using a mixer to mash and blend the potatoes with low-fat half and half and a "sprinkling" of salt. Thanksgiving day I continued with the rest of the recipe and tips and had fantatic, fluffy, creamy mashed potatoes that no one knew where made the night before! Thank you for the recipe and ideas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States