Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
FINALLY, someone who knows how to make mashed potatoes. Cooking potatoes whole keeps them from absorbing too much water. If you wish to peel them, remove them from the boiling water and set in ice water for a few moments to cool enough to handle them and the skins rub right off. Always use unsalted butter as it works better for the moisture content. Use fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and you have less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could. My hubby kept asking me if I was sure these potatoes would taste good the next day for our guests. Not only were they good, my guests ate them up so fast, I barely got a taste! Heating them up was so easy. I just popped them in the microwave for about 7 minutes on high, stopping once to stir. Once heated, I added the recommended butter and covered with plastic wrap until lunch time. They tasted divine! No one guessed they'd been cooked yesterday...and I certainly didn't tell! Oh, one more thing, pierce the potatoes with a fork a few times before boiling with skins on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Update below: These were bland in my opinion.. They do not keep warm when transfering to the heat proof bowl. If I were to ever make these again I would add chives, cream cheese, onion salt, something to taste.I have made these again since my first review. I make them early in the morning and put them into a crock pot,with a stick of butter on top,put on the warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Awesome and so easy!!!! Made my Thanksgiving so less stressful! I cooked the potatoes at 9am, mashed with half-and-half then left them in a crock pot on warm with a stick of butter on top. At noon I stirred in the butter and they were fluffy and hot to serve! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I altered the recipe somewhat. It is a good base to start with. I was cooking for 15 people and wanted to have plenty of potatoes (plus leftovers!). I used about 13-14 lbs of potatoes, cooking in three separate batches. I did peel the potatoes first. When mashing I added 1/2 cup half and half, a couple of ozs of cream cheese, about 2 tbsp butter, salt, freshly ground pepper and onion powder to taste for each batch and as I finished each batch I put them in my large slow cooker. The next day I added additional butter while reheating. I got many compliments from my family and they tasted great with and without the turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I have more time in the mornings to prepare that night's dinner so I always make my mashed potatoes ahead of time this way. No one can ever tell the difference. I prefer to peel my taters before boiling and I use electric beaters to whip them to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
We really liked these! They come out creamy and smooth..almost like instant only they taste better. They are easy to reheat and you can't tell that you've made them at an earlier time. I'm sure you could add things to them but I think the whole idea of this recipe was "make ahead" saving you time and stove space later. I'll use this again in the future for when I need extra time to make something else to go with them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
i loved this recipe. you can easily add flavoring.. such as garlic or herbs to taste. this is the only make ahead mashed potato recipe that i found that didn't have sour cream and/or cream cheese in it.. which i don't care for. a huge time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made these for Thanksgiving last year, but I did add extra butter and cream cheese, and they came out just fine. Actually, I think I made them the day/night before, and put them in my crockpot on low T-Day morning. They were hot when I was ready to serve.. I lost the recipes..came back here to find. Now that I think about it..I had some leftover cauliflower from a dinner the night before..I pureed that and added to the 'tatoes..noone noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABULADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I made these as part of a meal that I was delivering to another family. I made turkey and gravy to go with the potatoes. The potatoes were outstanding. I followed the recipe exactly. I added a heaping teaspoon of salt. I think I have to make another batch for my family. I can't stop thinking about how yummy they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSWITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States