Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is my first year hosting Christmas. I'm clueless, my mom always winged it and somehow got it right. This was EASY! I did vary a little. I did not make them ahead - I meant to but I stayed up to long cleaning. I also did not peel them because I like the skin, it makes them look homemade. They came out perfect. There are more than I need because I was afraid to halve the recipe on my first attempt, but I am sure they will disappear. Now to see how the meat turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Del Rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
mY FAMILY LOVED THIS. I MADE SEVERAL DAYS AHEAD, USED MY FOOD SAVER I DO THIS WITH ALL MY VEGGIES. THEN THANKSGIVING I CAN PUT THE TURKEY IN THE OVEN AND HAVE THE DAY TO MY SELF. THEN, PUT MY SOUP/STOCK POT WITH WATER ON, BOIL THE WATER, AND PUT ALL MY VEGGIES (IN THE FOOD SAVER BAGS) RIGHT IN THE POT AND THEY HEAT UP! SLIT TOP OF BAGS, EMPTY INTO BOWLS, GARNISH AS NEEDED AND ON THE TABLE! SO MUCH LESS STRESS!! I DO HAVE TO MAKE ABOUT TEN POUNDS OF POTATOES! THEY GO FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Haven't tried yet, but THIS is the recipe I've been looking for! I don't want garlic,cheese,spinach etc. in my potatos...just good old spuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Estep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Walden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
It's nice to make this in advance...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I felt that this recipe was very bland. Keeping the potatoes warm in the crockpot sounded like a great idea, but after a few hours, they really started to brown, and by the time we were ready to eat them, I didn't really want to serve them. Unfortunately, the taste didn't make up for their odd color. Sorry, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
We do a thanksgiving buffet at out Lodge for about 100 people. These are absolutely the easiest & the best. We always get compliments on the potatoes. When you are cooking for a large crowd fixing the potatoes ahead of the day needed is a great time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Yum!! We use seasoned salt instead of regular salt and always throw a clove or two of garlic in with the potatoes while they cook, but the method was awesome! I've never done potatoes so easily - I will never peel 10 or 20 pounds of potatoes for big dinners again, this is totally the way to go! And the slow cooker with the butter on top just made it all the better for my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Better yet is to let them slowly warm up in a crock pot. So on day 1,2,or 3 after mashing just store in your crockpot insert then you r ready to go .... 4 hours on low! You will never know they were made ahead of time. My family just doesn't lke reheating good food in the mw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have fixed these for years, but now with just 2 of us, it is alot of trouble and work. But I have discovered you can FREEZE them! I make them, then put in one cup containers and freeze, take out when needed microwave add butter give a quick stir and wa-la taste just like fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My mash potatoes are basicly the same. due to potatoes being differant, When I cook them, I add my butter first, (1/2 stick) for 5 to 8 potatoes. Once I whip them, I add my salt and pepper to taste. I will use milk, half and half, or cream to make them creamy and soft. My grandmother, and mother would add an egg before the milk/cream. I make enough to have leftovers so I can have Shepards pie another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States