Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My husband was so nervous about this recipe! He really likes his mashed potatoes and thought I would ruin Thanksgiving dinner with a preposterous make ahead mashed potato recipe :)........He and everyone else loved them. After reading reviewers recommendations, I made the recipe as is, put them in a crock pot on low 2 hours before dinner, put a stick of butter on top to melt 30 minutes before serving. This recipe was a great time saver on a hectic Holiday morning. I will definitely make this again for special occasions. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These potatoes are SO good! They are perfect for potlucks! I made this dish for a potluck and everyone LOVED it! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
they were delicious. very moist and tasty,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have made this twice now, the first time exactly as is, the second time I substituted butter for the sour cream and milk and garlic salt for the onion salt. (That was all I had on hand) Both times were great, but the original is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Theeeeeeee best mashed potatoes ever. Easy to do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Wonderful! These were great! I was planning a 4 pm dinner time, so I started preparing these about 1 pm. I put them in the crock pot @ 2 pm and stirred them once or twice and by 4 pm when it was time to eat (Thanksgiving Dinner) they were fabulous! The consistency was great, not runny or hard. Even left overs the next day were good. If you're reheating them after they've been cold, and they are hard, just add some milk. They're perfect every time! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Best recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
OUTSTANDING! First time I ever tried "make ahead" mashed potatoes, and not only were they delicious, it saved so much time and oven space (I heated them in the crock pot.) Everyone loved them. This is a KEEPER! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made these the day before Thanksgiving and put them in my slow cooker on low for about 4 hours before the dinner. They were thick and goopy...very disappointed. Sorry, but I can't waste my money on this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe!! Tasted amazing! Never made overnight mashed potatoes before, so I was a little cautious and followed original recipe. Turned out great! I will definately make this again.Saved me a lot of time on Thanksgiving Day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States