Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a GREAT time saver for a busy holiday. I make ahead then throw in the crockpot on low the morning of the holiday so that I save oven space and they're ready to eat by the time the rest of the dinner's done. I've had several requests for this recipe. Also really good using redskin potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
664 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great recipe!! I use when potatoes are on sale and make big batch, then freeze in zip bags enough for a meal. Makes several bags. Keeps potatoes from sitting and sprouting and i have one step for dinner already done when i need them. Perfect for working moms, saves some energy and time, yet you still have real mashed potatoes. I make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
We have made this for many holiday dinners. You can also put these in a crockpot for 5 to 6 hours. It's a great way to keep them warm without the hassle of watching over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
When cooking for a crowd -- this is the ONLY way to make mashed potatoes!! I added some minced garlic for more flavor. I made thanksgiving dinner for 20 with only one oven, and it is recipes like this that saved the day. There was not one SCRAP of mashed potatoes left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This mashed potatoes were a great basic, easy recipe. The only thing I added was one stick of butter. I did not bake them, I made them the day of and kept them warm in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This recipe is wonderful... I have been useing it for years... it simplafies big family dinners.... when we all get to geather there are 21 of us and so I double the recipe... one grandoughter now requests them for family meals.... so we now call them Amber's mashed potatoes.... I have made them as much as five days ahead..I recomend this for any cook who wants to save a little time on the day of a big meal... PS The most wonderful thing about this recipe is they never taste like wormed overs or leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
These were awesome mashed potatoes. I made the potatoes the night before. Instead of heated them in the oven I put them in a crock pot on low. I added milk and butter to remoisten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
So good and what a blessing to make ahead! I threw in 3-4 cloves of garlic with the potatoes to boil and mashed them right with the taters. Also added about 1/2 cup grated parmesan, and sprinkled top with paprika for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I make this all the time. I like to keep a pan in my deep freezer so I can have unexpected company any to time and serve Company style potatoes like I knew that they were coming all along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Very Creamy! If you are not making ahead, 35 minutes in the oven was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States