Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
So easy to make ahead, warmed up great in the crock pot - only change was just one block of cream cheese instead of two and used low-fat cream cheese and sour cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried this dish today for our Thanksgiving dinner. It has a LOT of potential to be a great dish, but next time I will definitely cut the cream cheese & sour cream portions by at least half! It was WAY too creamy and cheesy tasting. I'm sure that with some tweaking, it will be a great receipe to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made without any changes and was delicious!! Because I made them for Thanksgiving and another reviewer suggested using a slow cooker I did. Saved on oven space. Cook on low for 4-5 hours....fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Have been using this recipe for family gatherings for at least 8 years now.....one of my grandkids says his MOST favorite food is Gramma Rita's mashed potatoes! Need I say more ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Instead of heating in the oven as the directions state, I put the massed potatoes in a crock pot for 4+ hours. They were like wallpaper paste. Tasted good, but not fluffy. Will make it the way the directions state next time. Should be OK to put in a crock pot for a shorter amount of time to keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
These were so good and I was really concerned about making them when we had company coming for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone enjoyed them and I am sure they will be a staple at more dinners! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Scrumptious.... I put them in an oven glass baking dish, and sprinkle with panko bread crumbs mixed with melted butter before heating, I also sprinkle paprika over the top, makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great to make in advance. Portions are very large. Cut back to suit crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
These were great. The 30 people we have for christmas really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These were okay only because we thought the cream cheese and sour cream flavor to be a little too strong in the dish. I would make again but next time probably add alot less cheese and cream and add butter and milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States