Make Ahead Manicotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
kids loved them. They were wonderful will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
First of all, I ended up with a bowl of extra filling. Luckily I had extra manicotti shells (I adjusted the recipe for 9 servings, meaning 18 shells. I used 23 shells and still had enough for a few more!) Secondly, it wasn't very flavorful. I realize that had a lot to do with the plain store-bought sauce. But plain store-bought sauce is what makes this convenient and you don't want to start changing that around, so something else should have been done to add more flavor. I will probably make this again with the modification of (1) less filling ingredients and (2) adding some fresh garlic and maybe even jarred pesto to the filling to bulk up the flavor. It was nice to do a make-ahead, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This is a GREAT recipe and easy to prepare, I made this for dinner today for my parents and little niece and they loved it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meyersdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Meh. This was so-so. Both my hubs and I thought this was edible, but agreed that we'd pass on ever having it again. Oddly, this reminded me of all the frozen (manicotti) entree's I've tried in the past that I didn't like one bit. All the reviews are right - OMIT THE SUGAR! It gives the pasta a sweet taste that just doesn't belong (as subtle as it was). I BY FAR prefer my Pampered Chef florentine stuffed shells recipe. It takes a little work to prepare, but is OH SOOOO GOOD!!! Since I like idea of stuffing uncooked pasta shells (it makes filling a LOT easier!), I might give this another chance using my PC stuffed shells filling recipe instead. NOTE: A few reviewers suggested using a large Zip-Lock bag to "pipe" your filling into each manicotti shell. I agree. Simply snip the corner and use it as a pastry bag. A simple garden salad and garlic bread rounded out our weeknight meal. Maybe this will float your boat, but it left us sorely disappointed. Thanks anyways, Sandir. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
So good! I followed some other reviewers suggestions and only put 1/2 tablespoon of sugar in the filling and it came out great! The only other change I made was to add less spinach than called for. I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was a big hit with family and extended family. I only used 1/2 the spinach and I think it was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have an Italian friend that told me to use egg roll wrappers instead of pasta shells.. It works "fantastico".. Just put the amount filling you want and roll.. Bake with the seam side down.. Quick and easy.. I did delete the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was excellent! I also used extra sauce and it was easy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pumpkyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I love this recipe! It was delicious the first day and the second day! I did use extra spaghetti sauce, I used 2 jars of 16 oz instead of 1 like it says, only because I didn't want the noodles to be dry.My husband loved it too, that does say a lot! This sure will be a recipe I use over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
good Recipe, I add onion 1/4 of onion and a extra egg baked 1 hour 375 oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Manicotti

See how to make something deliciously different with leftover turkey.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States