Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I thought that this recipe was good as is, but next time i will add spices, as many of the other reviewers did. Love that pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These turned out great!! I was looking for a way to use up the last little bit of a roast turkey that didn't require me to eat turkey again so soon. I know it's not in the recipe, but diced turkey just made it better especially with salsa and sour cream on top. Great for a quick lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Love this recipe, they don't even have to be frozen and can last all week in the fridge. My fiance always requests more corn, so I add 2 cans instead of 1. I put jalapenos and hot sauce in his and cilantro in mine. Great to bring to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Love this recipe!!! It worked great for work and it's so tasty I didn't get sick of eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
We tried these twice and still didn't like them. The idea is great for a easy and healthy lunch, there just isn't enough flavor for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Breen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I added fresh cilantro, and chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper, and onion powder to the rice after it cooked. I also added extra corn (frozen) since I didn't have the pinto beans. It made 18 wraps (1/2 c. filling per 10" burrito size tortillas). I am anxious to take these to work! The filling tastes awesome! Update: These were AWESOME to freeze and take to work- just set out to thaw in the morning to microwave at lunch for a few minutes- they are SO YUMMY- especially with some picante sauce and sour cream on top! Much Healthier and Much cheaper than buying lunch out! I am getting ready to go back to school- I am a teacher- and am planning on making a double or triple recipe to freeze and take for lunch- they are THAT good! I also plan to exchange Red Heirloom Quinoa for the brown rice- I hope it's good, too! I'd give this recipe way more than 5 stars if I could.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Wonderful recipe but I thought it would be bland so I added a Poblano and Jalepeno pepper and a pound of ground beef cooked in taco spices, It could have used more hot pepper. My husband raved about the wrap he had for lunch. You need a HUGE bowl. I had to split my recipe into thirds to get it into the bowls I have for mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
As usual, I don’t tend to follow recipes exactly, but I tried this one out because I was getting bored with my lunch and I’ve been trying to cut down on my meat intake. This was a grand idea! I loved her recommendation to rinse the beans! It helped make the burrito less messy and it gets rid of some of the salt they can it with. My modifications: I accidentally forgot the rice because I’m a dork, but I know that will be great and I’ll try not to forget it next time. I'll cook it in some broth and lime juice. I sautéed all the veggies along with onions and two types of chilies until the onions were nice and caramelized. I added seasoning and lime juice. I kept that separate from the black beans that I used. To transport to work I just put beans on one side of my bento box, the veggies on the other, and I sprinkled the cheese all over the top. I wrapped up a tortilla in foil and once I’m at work I can microwave the filling until the cheese melts and I have a delicious vegetarian lunch! When I remember, I also bring along a bottle of hot sauce and it adds a nice kick. And the great part is I don’t even need to freeze it if I finish it off by the end of the week. I just keep it in the fridge and spoon into my lunch box the night before so it’s ready to grab and go! Thanks for the great idea! This has a ton of modification possibilities to keep my lunch exciting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
A very good idea for quick lunches and healthy with all the protein from the beans. A great base recipe, but it definitely needs some spice so I'd recommend adding cumin, garlic, etc. and maybe use your favorite salsa in place of the canned tomatoes w/chilis. I love having these for lunch; one wrap and I'm full (thus avoiding the urge to run to the vending machine at 3pm haha). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These were OK. Adding the taco seasoning and cilantro helped, and I would try again with chicken. Probably would have been better with salsa and sour cream on the side, but dragging all of that to work can be a chore. I guess I'm just not meant to bring lunch from home. *shrug*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraKristin1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States