Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great idea. Made these last week with some variations and enjoyed an easy and delicious lunch and snack for several days. Recipe allows for variations depending on taste. I cut this recipe in half and had a lot of filling. I used taco sized flour tortillas which I like better than the larger ones. I also used this filling for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
GREAT! I only gave 4 stars because they are missing something. Maybe I'll use spicy rotel next time, or add some onions. Recipe needs some tweaking but is still delicious, and very convienient! The recipe made about 8 good size burritos which I froze a few of them, will see if they hold up in the freezer or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This is a great way to enjoy lunch throughout the week. I halved the recipe and followed the advice of others, plus a few of my own additions: 1) caramelized 1 small onions with 1 green bell pepper and 1T brown sugar, added corn and green chilies towards the end of caramelizing process and added a dash of salt and pepper, 2) used 1 chopped fresh tomato with about 5 oz. salsa instead of canned diced tomatoes, 3) 2 cans black beans (didn't have pinto beans), 4) mixed 1/2 package taco seasoning into my cooked brown rice, 5) mixed cheddar and mozzarella cheese (that's what I had on hand), 6) added lime juice to the entire mixture, 7) served with sour cream. My husband loved it, and only suggested the addition of a meat as a possible boost, but it's great with or without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was surprised at how good these are! And it's so nice to have a healthy lunch waiting in the freezer. Thanks, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made this twice. First, exactly as written. 5 Stars!! Second time, added some cumin and chili powder. Still 5 stars! Awesome recipe, thank you Melissa! My coworkers are sooo jealous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Wonderful recipe. Like most, I changed it to suit my tastes. I left out the rice because the dish has enough carbs. I made 1/2 recipe and only used two cans of beans and added a can of refried beans, onion, garlic, trio of sweet peppers, cumin, chili powder and cayenne. The tomatoes were salsa spiced and the refried beans were green chile with lime, no fat. The refried beans added a nice lime flavor that complimented the dish and also thickened and added that binding of ingredients (I also smashed some of the beans with a flat wooden spoon to increase this effect). Corn was recently on sale and I cooked the ears and cut the corn off the cob, it is so flavorful and sweet. The trio of peppers added a little more color to an already colorful dish. I will make this over and over! Thanks for the recipe and for those who shared their changes or additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I can't use canned items due to high sodium content, so I had to use home made beans, fresh tomatoes & chillies and frozen corn; My black beans are still simmering - haven't even added them yet, but everything was mixed and prepared and I simply couldn't resist trying one. I'm microwave illiterate, so not quite sure about how to go about heating up a frozen one, but will browse comments in hopes someone else went into more detail. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
5 stars because its pretty easy once you get the brown rice cooked. i cooked my brown rice in chicken stock and added taco seasoning. i also used salsa in place of tomatoes and cheddar jack cheese. also whole wheat tortillas easy good and its gonna save me lunch money tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
some of the family loved them,some didn't.if you have ever tried lean cuisines santa fe style rice and beans this tastes exactly like it.i would make again but only make a half batch and just eat it plain with a flour tortilla on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that I made changes based on the other reviews. I added taco seasoning to the rice. I added extra tomatoes and corn. They are GREAT for packing in a lunch...just grab it out of the freezer, then at lunch time microwave it for 2 or 3 minutes. Also good with sour cream and salsa for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States