Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is a fantastic idea, and a great base recipe. Now I don't know about you, but when I'm pregnant I want restaurant-quality food and I'll spend the time sometimes to get it. To make these taste like high-quality fresh mexican restaurant wraps, add the following to the original recipe: 1 large white onion 2 large red bell peppers Lots of olive oil 2 T brown sugar juice of one lime I carmelized the onion and bell pepper together with 2 T brown sugar. This took awhile, but it was worth it. Towards the end of carmelizing, add the can of corn to the pan and sautee it with the rest. Add some salt and pepper to taste. (Since we didn't use the diced tomatoes, I just added one 4 oz can of green chiles to the mix towards the end of carmelizing.) Let this cool sligtly, then add the cheese to the onion mixture to help it melt. Mix with the rice and beans. Add the juice of one lime to the mix. Spoon into ezekiel tortillas or whole wheat tortillas and just to make yourself feel more like a chef, put a piece of dark lettuce under the burritos to serve. I cooked 1 c of quinoa to 2 c water for 15 min then let rest uncovered in place of 2 c uncooked brown rice. This comes out to about the same volume vs. 2 c rice and is a complete protein grain in itself. Rinse quinoa well before cooking if you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Healthy, hearty, easy and cheap! I made a half recipe which yielded 10 stuffed 10-inch tortillas. I do recommend the following additions (based on half recipe): 1) season your rice when you cook it (try salt, garlic powder, chili powder) 2) substitute good fresh salsa for the canned tomatoes; my grocery store sells a decent one in the produce aisle. 3) add 1/2 cup chopped fresh cillantro; in my opinion, this makes it! 4) add 4 oz can diced jalapenos 5) add 1T ground cumin and 1T mexican oregano to the mixture. 6) use a one-cup measure to fill the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
This recipe is great -- I've used it more times than I can count! I love having such a healthy, filling meal available whenever I need it. When I first started making these, I followed the recipe exactly (I rated it 4 stars), but over time, I've made a couple of modifiations to make these 5 stars!! If it's available, I really like to buy a 14-oz bag of frozen southwest vegetable blend (corn, black beans, poblano chiles, red peppers, and onions). When using this mix, I decrease the beans to 2 cans black, 1 can pinto. Not all grocery stores in my area carry it, so when it's not available, I use 3 cans black beans, 2 cans pinto, and 1 10-oz can Mexicorn (with green and red bell peppers). I started decreasing the cheese to half a pound quite some time ago -- I don't even miss it (I also use whatever kind is on hand). I add a packet of Taco Seasoning to the rice before blending with the rest of the ingredients, and add a can of sliced olives (yummm!). I love to serve Macayo's Taco Sauce over top -- made as described, and these are anything but bland!! These are a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Awesome convenient, & healthy! The basic recipe is a little bland, but of course you can tweak & add spices to your liking. One extra step that I took and haven't seen posted is that I pulsed 1/3 of the bean mixture in the food processor before adding the rice & cheese. Then I mixed the processed beans & all other ingredients together. We liked that it held together a little better that way. Really, really enjoyed this recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty. You will probably need extra tortillas, though...I mixed up a half recipe and it made 10 wraps. I have found that they are best when thawed overnight in the refrigerator, and heated up for about 2 minutes in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
wow, with a few adjustments (huge thanks to everybody's reviews!), these are FANTASTIC! it's just me and my boyfriend, so i halved the recipe. still, we used 8" tortillas and ended up with 15 wraps! not that we mind, cuz they're so good :) we added taco seasoning to the rice after cooking it, so the flavors could blend while it cooled. (i used the "taco seasoning I" recipe off this site) also, we added cilantro (mmm...) and a 4 ounce can of chiles. i used about 3/4 cup of the mixture per wrap (remember, 8" tortillas) and they are SO filling and delicious with sour cream and salsa. thanks for a healthier, yet still quick and easy alternative to "lean pockets!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Reading the ingredients I wondered how in the world this could have been so highly rated by so many people, because it seemed so ordinary. I tried it anyway, and my family loved it. I cut everything in half except the tomatoes and subbed mexican style stewed toms for the tomatoes and chilies because the tomatoes and chilies are too spicy for my smaller children. They asked to have it again so I made another batch and froze them. Even my toddler ate a whole one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
These are pretty good! I prefer to take my lunch to work rather than eating greasy fast food whenever possible. After all, you never know if the person cooking your food has washed their hands after their last lavatory visit, or scratched that unmentionable itch 5 minutes ago...... Anyway, these reheat well and are even better with sour cream and salsa on the side. I'll take one or 2 of these when there's no leftovers and/or I don't have time to whip up a quick lunch. They freezer burn rather quickly though. I suggest eating them within 2 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Hate to be one of those reviewers who made changes and then rates it 5-stars but I bet this would've been 5-star without my addition of one 10oz. can of Sue's shredded cooked chicken breast. This is awesome and I have a stash in my work-freezer & my co-workers circle like vultures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I love this recipe!! I am not a vegetarian, but ocasionally I like to have a vegetarian meal. This is super-convenient to bring to work and heat up there or eat at home when it seems like there is absolutely nothing to eat. I added some Mexican seasoning (cumin, garlic, red pepper, chili powder, oregano, etc.) and it spiced it up very nicely. I also added chopped up black olives. My freezer will never be "fully stocked" without some of these wraps inside! I let 3 other people have a wrap and they all loved it (even though they originally grumbled about the absense of meat)Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States