Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was a good recipe, and makes a nice lunch. Overall, these are not mind-blowing, but they are tasty and healthy. Much better than something from the grocery store freezer section. My husband made these for me and made a half recipe but used the original amount of tomatoes, which worked great. He also used jasmine rice in place of brown as we had that on hand. A half recipe should have made 8 burritos but we got 13 good sized ones. I just wish the recipe had directions for how to re-heat these after freezing so I would not have to experiment to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Very easy to make and super delicious. I used a box seasoned Mexican rice to add some flavor to the plain corn and black beans. Omitted the pinto beans and diced tomatoes/chilies and it still tasted great. 1 can black beans, 1 can corn, and one box of Mexican rice and sprinkled cheese filled 10 smaller-sized tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
liked, but if you over heat they will dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. I love mexican so being able to have a mexican like wrap for lunch is awesome. I have dialed this recipe back so that it doesn't make as much. I only use one can of black beans and one can of the pinto. I little less cheese, I find one shredded package of cheese is perfect unless I have some left over cheese I am trying to get rid of. I have added onion to mine as I love onion and it gives it some more flavor. I am a Weight Watchers lifetime member so I tried to use low calorie tortillas to keep it light but found these are usually too dry to handle the wrapping and freezing without breaking up or drying out. Use regular flour tortillas and they will be fine. I have also added more spices as I like my wraps spicy. I have recommended these to my busy sister who is mother of 3 and constantly on the go. Thanks so much for a great recipe. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I was looking for a unique change up to my PB&J's and bologna and cheese sandwiches for work snacks/lunch, and this seemed like a good idea. I used Uncle Ben's instant brown rice, and added a good dash of cumin and chili powder to it while cooking. I also omitted the canned tomatoes with chili's and instead used a large amount (not sure how much, I got a big container at the deli counter) of pico de gallo. I mixed the pico, black beans, and corn together and added the juice of one lime to the mix. Silly me, I bought refried beans instead of pinto, so I heated those up and used it as the based spread on my tortillas. Oh, and for the tortillas, I used Mission's Jalapeno & Cheddar flavored tortillas. I wrapped all but one, which became my guinea pig. I cut it in half, and ate one part chilled and the other part warmed in the microwave for 30 seconds. It's delicious both ways. I just wish I had a side of sour cream to dip them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
A terrific base recipe. To bump up the nutritional value (and ease of preparation), I changed out the rice for quinoa. I also sprinkled a minimal amount of cheese (and of course you can ditch it altogether). Then to make it taste Good (versus healthy, ha ha) I added a tiny tiny amount of Rick Bayless' taco seasoning. (If you add too much, it would be over powering And too high on the sodium content.) Just enough to taste it and give some complexity to the whole thing. HELLO new favorite lunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Quick, easy, relatively healthy and best of all... Tasty! I made and froze, then unwrapped when ready to indulge and threw in some fresh lettuce, tomato and sour cream. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very good and easy lunch. It only takes about a minute in the microwave from the freezer and no quality is compromised! Recipe is a little bland but a few personal adjustments can easily be made. I had 16 tortillas and put about one cup in each (they were hard to roll up with any more than that!) and ran out of tortillas. I think I had enough for 2 or 3 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Added taco seasoning and fresh cilantro. Added cheese atop individual wraps to get good coverage. Husband said, and I quote "These are amazing!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parrott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
These are a staple at my house. I do usually add more cheese than called for, but with the prescribed amount they are very good. I use all black beans and no pinto, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States