Make Ahead Lunch Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I decided to use non-canned beans, and I followed the recipe as much as I could and it was just awful. It made me feel like I was going to throw up and it was very difficult to eat it at all. I was hoping this would be a good thing to take for lunches but after that experience I don't know if I can ever eat beans again. Before it started causing my stomach to feel awful, I thought it was ridiculously bland. I am never making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Very tasty and very filling. A great take along lunch and very nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
It was a quick fix and reheated very well. Great for work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I made this for my boys' school lunches and they absolutely loved them! I left out the pinto beans and made it with white rice since that was all I had. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Followed basically as directed and am enjoying these. I did add some refried beans to the mix because I had them leftover in the fridge from another meal. The only negative is that the ends that have little filling get hard upon microwaving (even if I wrap them in paper towels), but I just cut off the ends and not a big deal. I cut the recipe in half but still made 10 of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Amazing! I modified the recipe slightly following several different comments suggestions. I used 4 cans black beans and accidentally opened 3 cans of pintos instead of two (oops), but it turned out perfectly. I also used a large can of Ro Tel (25 oz) instead of 1-10oz can. I also had half a purple onion leftover from making dinner, so I diced that and threw it in the mix. I used couscous instead of rice (whole box), and added one packet of McCormick Taco mix while boiling the water. I also had some leftover low-fat mozzarella on hand (around 2 cups) that I substituted for the pepper jack. I had everything on hand except for the tortillas, but the store was out of 10 inch wraps, so I bought 4 packages of qty 8, 8" flour wraps. I used a half cup scoop to put the filling into the burrito, and it was perfect! I used all the bean mix and tortillas! I now have 32 individually wrapped burritos in the fridge, and two of these are the perfect size for lunch. Delicious with a little hot sauce and/or salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I like it, but want to let it sit for a bit. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added taco seasoning to the brown rice. I added onions and red peppers to the pan with some olive oil and a bit of brown sugar before adding the corn and green chilies. I pureed the pinto beans with some of the black beans and the onion mixture. I added lime juice and drained diced tomatoes along with a good bunch of chopped cilantro. Right now it seems to need something. I wonder if I should have added more spice to the mixture, such as cumin or cayenne. I've already made the burritos, so will serve with spicy salsa after reheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made these the other day and put some in wraps and some in mini pitas (as thats what i had in fridge) and the filling alone was great to eat but also great in the shells. My husband actually eats them too. And so simple just take out of freezer and go! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!! I cooked the rice with my taco seasoning and added some seasoning to the bean mixture. Next time I think I'll put some salsa right in the mix. My husband and I love it. I'm pretty sure my kids will too. I will be making this over and over. I love that I will have a yummy lunch on hand!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I modified this recipe a little bit based on what I had in the cabinet. I used: 2 boxes of Farmhouse Brown and Wild Rice 1 can chili beans with a cheese sauce added 1 bag frozen of southwest blend corn mix 1/2 bag Birdseye Frozen onion and bell pepper mix I omitted the pepperjack cheese. Instead of wrapping in tortillas I put in individual size sandwich back and then placed in the freezer in a labeled gallon size freezer bag. Now I can pull out what I need when ready to eat add the any cheese, meat, tortilla and anything else I may want. Very quick and easy way to take lunch, plus frozen mixture makes a great ice pack until time to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzezDe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tamales

Watch how to make this authentic Latin American treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States