Make-Ahead Hot Buttered Rum Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Very tasty. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ground ginger and 1/16 tsp each nutmeg and ground cloves. I omitted ground orange peel. I used Captain Morgan's spiced rum in mine---very yummy. Also, the kids enjoyed the mix made with hot water only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Very, Very good. Prefer this over the overly heavy ice cream types. Doubled the spices and orange peel, with great success too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Made a plastic container of this. Keep it in my fridge for instant hot buttered rums. SO GOOD! Perfect for Minnesota evenings. Thanks! Time to replenish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Love the orange peel in this recipe. I added a heaping tablespoon of vanilla ice cream and it is now perfection in a cup. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was wonderful. I didn't expect much without the ice cream, but what an after dinner treat it was. I didn't have any oranges, so I left out the orange peel. Very easy and worth it. I used vanilla rum to add the extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I just made this and it's lovely. I didn't add the orange peel, so I think I will definitely do that next time. I also didn't have any rum, but it's pretty delicious by itself. :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Fantastic!! LOVED the orange in it. Substituted cinnamon for the punpkin spice. Thanks for such a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Great to take camping. Big hit around the campfire on those cool mornings and evenings. Orange peel makes it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe! I was thrilled to find this as an alternative to the "add ice cream" recipes. I didn't have orange peel and used a couple drops of orange extract instead--worked perfecly--or so says my husband (self proclaimed Hot Buttered Rum Expert)! Yummy--thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Finally a hot butttered rum mix recipe made without ice cream! This was really tasty and I liked the addition of the orange zest. We served this delicious drink with some Italian ammareti cookies. Me and my brother made it with hot coffee and my mom made it with rum and boiling water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States