Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Followed this exactly and will make it again. Wasn't sure if I should stack the bread but that's the only way it would all fit. I used real maple syrup. Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is really delicious! I used Sarah Lee Texas Toast and followed tips from DivineHealth on spices. I used fat free milk and half & half, and used all the eggs in the original recipe. I sprayed the baking pan with Crisco Butter spray, and lifted the slices in the morning to spray the pan again before baking. It was delicious and decadent! My family loved it and it will become a regular for Christmas brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It tasted good, but not fabulous. Would like to find one that I like better. Maybe one with a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was great. Served it for family staying w/ us over the holidays. Just be sure to grease the pan really well so it doesn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very yummy! I found the liquid and topping to be enough for TWO pans of bread, though (with half a loaf of french bread in each pan - thick slices in a single layer, otherwise bottom layers don't get topping, which is the best part). I can't even imagine how soggy on the bottom and sweet on the top it would be to use only half a loaf of bread. I made this for christmas morning breakfast and would definitely make again. I think, because it's so sweet, it would be ideal as just part of a brunch spread, as opposed to the only thing on the table. But so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NEWHALL94
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent and so simple to make. We make this every year for Christmas breakfast, it's nice to have a yummy breakfast and not spend hours in the kitchen missing all the Christmas fun. I add a little extra egg mixture into the pan the night before and the bread soaks it right up, gives it a little more flavor, is moist on the inside and has a nice candy like coating on the outside once it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Someone wrote a review for this stating they made their own bread using the Amish White Bread recipe, so I decided to give that a try. Thick, hearty slices were used. 12 or 13 of them, cut diagonally and layered. Mix was 1/2 cup whole milk, 5 eggs, 1 cup half and half, the vanilla and some cinnamon. Dipped and dunked bread, spread it out in cooking-sprayed 9x13 pan. There was maybe 1/4 cup of mix left that I drizzled over. Baked for about 50 minutes, it was fantastic. I agree that it's not like traditional French toast but it's delicious. You need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. We usually fix it for Christmas morning breakfast. One thing that I change is I like to use a bakery loaf of cinnamon bread rather than the French bread. The touch of cinnamon goes so well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Worked out wonderfully! I used a bit less milk, and cooked about 50 min. Also added cinnamon, as a personal preferance. The pecans are a must. Baking them with the sugar mixture takes the dish to a whole new level. Even our picky eaters had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is super easy, yummy. Everyone loves it! I usually have a half with the nuts and half without, for the picky eaters in our group. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States