Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Outstanding!!! I would just do less of the egg mixture to dip into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I found this made WAY more liquid than was needed; same for the topping. I cut both basically in half (3 eggs, half of the other liquid measures) and it was perfect. In the morning, I flip the bread slices over before adding the topping and baking. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Very easy to make. I used a mixture of leftover bread from a couple of dinners (including some biscuits) and I didn't add the cream b/c I didn't have any, but did not seem to cause a problem We will be making this again, but I will add cinnamon to the sauce next time. Kids and hubby all loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe many time and it's always a hit. This has become our tradition recipe for Christmas morning! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Made the first time this morning. Was Ok...don't think I'll make again. Or if I do, I will certainly tweek the recipe. 5 eggs-1.2 c. milk? Really? I had way too much left over...could have made another + recipe. Not very cost effective, but had nice flavor. Liked others much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This turned out WONDERFULLY! It is not very sweet, despite what you'd think and even my wife, who doesn't like too many nuts, just loved it. A total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have made this a number of times. The first time I followed the recipe and it tasted great. Since I make a few variations every time. LOL. Sometimes I'll throw some blueberries on top before baking or add a bit of grated nutmeg to the egg mixture or a bit of cinnamon sprinkled in with the brown sugar and butter. A very versatile recipe and a keeper in this household. Tomorrow I am going to slice an apple to put on top. YUMMIE!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was also skeptical from previous reviews (would it be too soggy?), but decided to give it a try for New Years Day. (We've started a tradition where we do a New Year's Day Dash, and while we're out running, our breakfast bakes in the oven, so this recipe fit in perfectly with our tradition!) I followed the recipe, with a few modifications: added cinnamon to the egg mixture (yum!) and omitted the pecans (allergy). I made the recipe around noon the day before, tossed it in the fridge, and cleaned up - very quick process (20 min max including washing dishes). The dish took about 50 minutes in the oven. The first 45 minutes, I had a glass lid on the Corningware dish and for the last 5 minutes, removed the lid to allow the top of the french toast to get golden and a little bit crispy. My only comment as a "watch for" is that our dish was too sweet. The directions say to "spoon" the butter/brown sugar/syrup mixture over the top before baking, I would recommend "drizzle" so that your dish doesn't get so sweet. Next year, we will keep the tradition from this year - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Super easy, super delish! It will be a family favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Made this recipe for Christmas morning and most everyone really liked it. I was looking for a traditional type French Toast recipe. After reading through reviews, I made the recipe as follows. I rubbed the pan with cold butter to prevent sticking. I used most of two 3/4 lb French loaves. I used so much b/c I tried different widths and slanted vs straight cut. Doing it again, I could get by with one loaf. I decided on 1 1/2 inch thick, slanted cuts, and filled up my 9x13 pan. Two inches was taller than the side of my pan and just didn't look like French toast. The French bread itself was very narrow. Next time, I may try a "fatter" bread. I mixed together 3 beaten eggs, 3/4 c. milk and 1/2 c half and half and poured this over the bread to soak overnight (and it soaked it all up). To save time the next morning, I went ahead and mixed together 5 T butter, melted, 1/4 c light brown sugar, and 1/2 T maple syrup. The next morning I reheated this mixture then poured over the French toast before baking. It did not completely cover all the breads, so next time I'll make about 1/4 more. I loosened the bread with a spatula to prevent sticking. I baked it probably a little more than 40 minutes, but in the rush of Christmas morning I can't be sure of the timing. Sorry! I served it with heated real Maple syrup in dipping cups. This was very good and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States