Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Flavor was great. Based on reviews I wasn't quite sure if I should add all the remaining egg liquid after soaking the bread or not so I added half of it. I used a french loaf that was a day old and soaked the pieces for about 30 sec before adding to the pan. This didn't seem to be good enough even adding the half of the egg mix over the top. Some of the bread wasn't soaked through even after over night so was a little dry when cooked. But, I did use 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy whipping cream so maybe the thickness of the cream kept it from absorbing through. I only used 4 eggs too since there was so much liquid that couldn't possibly be used for the loaf (which I used more than half of). Sprinkled some cinnamon on top before baking too. 1/3 c. butter and 3/4 c. brown sugar with the syrup with the pecans was plenty sweet for us. 40 min was perfect timing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this for Christmas morning today it was AMAZING!!cooked it a little longer and was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Love this recipe!! It has been a tradition for the last 7 or so years to have every Christmas morning with scrambled eggs, apple sausages, bacon and fruit on the French toast with whipped cream and, of course, mimosas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Good, easy recipe. I prefer to use a good raisin bread instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUANT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
5 stars. I've made this recipe a dozen times now. Am never disappointed, extremely delicious and quite crowd pleasing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Amazing! Brought this to a potluck and had so many compliments. I had heavy cream on hand so I used that instead of half and half. Based on another review, before I put the bread into the pan, I lined the bottom with a thin layer of butter. In the morning, I loosened the bread before coating it. Because there were going to be children at the event, I omitted the nuts. For cooking time, I was in a bit of a hurry so I used convection for 30 minutes. Lastly, I turned the broiler on for a couple minutes (watching it constantly!) to get a slight crunch to the top. Really yummy! My husband and kids agreed that we should have this on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Disappointed. The worse French Toast I have even made. I followed the recipe but halved it and baked it in a smaller pan. I think I'll stick to making French Toast the original way- in a fry pan the morning it's to be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Came out great and delicious, although I left out the nuts. Actually ended up using twice the amount of french bread than recommended as there was PLENTY of leftover egg mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
SO EASY AND REALLY YUM. MANY THANKS FOR A WINNER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
A little bland, maybe some cinnamon would help. Othewise came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States