Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Someone wrote a review for this stating they made their own bread using the Amish White Bread recipe, so I decided to give that a try. Thick, hearty slices were used. 12 or 13 of them, cut diagonally and layered. Mix was 1/2 cup whole milk, 5 eggs, 1 cup half and half, the vanilla and some cinnamon. Dipped and dunked bread, spread it out in cooking-sprayed 9x13 pan. There was maybe 1/4 cup of mix left that I drizzled over. Baked for about 50 minutes, it was fantastic. I agree that it's not like traditional French toast but it's delicious. You need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. We usually fix it for Christmas morning breakfast. One thing that I change is I like to use a bakery loaf of cinnamon bread rather than the French bread. The touch of cinnamon goes so well with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Worked out wonderfully! I used a bit less milk, and cooked about 50 min. Also added cinnamon, as a personal preferance. The pecans are a must. Baking them with the sugar mixture takes the dish to a whole new level. Even our picky eaters had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is super easy, yummy. Everyone loves it! I usually have a half with the nuts and half without, for the picky eaters in our group. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC! Not sure WHAT other reviewers are talking about that it's just "so soggy?" Try BAKING IT LONGER. Mine were in the oven for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES. Came out crispy and delicious. Also, if still soggy try spreading them out on a cookie sheet and turning halfway through. I didn't make mine the night before (I forgot...go figure!), but instead just dipped my 1 inch French Bread "sticks" in the mixture flipping a few pieces around in it at a time for about 10 seconds(perfect amount of dipping mixture for 1 whole loaf of French Bread...I followed ingredient amounts exactly), and since I was doing French Toast Sticks, I placed them on a cookie sheet, added sugar/butter mixture minus the pecans, and immediately baked them. I ended up baking mine for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES on a COOKIE SHEET lined with parchment paper/lightly sprayed with non-stick spray = NO sticking, and crisp French Toast - VERY TRAVEL FRIENDLY. Add a sprinkle of cinnamon on the tops of the toast before placing in the oven. Also, be sure to use SALTED BUTTER....it will not be too sweet! DELICIOUS!! Thank you Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Was a bit too sweet even for my kids......I would say more egg less milk cinnamon, nutmeg needed and less sugar more maple syrup.....sorry not too impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My family LOVES this french toast. I did make 1 change. I used the thick Texas Toast and did not cut it up. So easy, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut back on the milk to ensure the french toast would not be soggy. But that didn't seem to help. the brown sugar caramelized and turned to a hard rock mess, meanwhile the middle of the french toast was completely uncooked. There was no way I could sever raw eggs to my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
What I loved most about this was how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Easy and delicious! What more could a person want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States