Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is super easy, yummy. Everyone loves it! I usually have a half with the nuts and half without, for the picky eaters in our group. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This recipe is FANTASTIC! Not sure WHAT other reviewers are talking about that it's just "so soggy?" Try BAKING IT LONGER. Mine were in the oven for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES. Came out crispy and delicious. Also, if still soggy try spreading them out on a cookie sheet and turning halfway through. I didn't make mine the night before (I forgot...go figure!), but instead just dipped my 1 inch French Bread "sticks" in the mixture flipping a few pieces around in it at a time for about 10 seconds(perfect amount of dipping mixture for 1 whole loaf of French Bread...I followed ingredient amounts exactly), and since I was doing French Toast Sticks, I placed them on a cookie sheet, added sugar/butter mixture minus the pecans, and immediately baked them. I ended up baking mine for 1 HOUR 15 MINUTES on a COOKIE SHEET lined with parchment paper/lightly sprayed with non-stick spray = NO sticking, and crisp French Toast - VERY TRAVEL FRIENDLY. Add a sprinkle of cinnamon on the tops of the toast before placing in the oven. Also, be sure to use SALTED BUTTER....it will not be too sweet! DELICIOUS!! Thank you Debbie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Was a bit too sweet even for my kids......I would say more egg less milk cinnamon, nutmeg needed and less sugar more maple syrup.....sorry not too impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My family LOVES this french toast. I did make 1 change. I used the thick Texas Toast and did not cut it up. So easy, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I took the advice of others and cut back on the milk to ensure the french toast would not be soggy. But that didn't seem to help. the brown sugar caramelized and turned to a hard rock mess, meanwhile the middle of the french toast was completely uncooked. There was no way I could sever raw eggs to my guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
What I loved most about this was how easy it was to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Easy and delicious! What more could a person want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
BEST EVER!!!!! We make it every Easter and our Guests love it. we stuck to the oringinal recipe and it turned out tasting so delicous, i wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Superb! Better than skillet french toast. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My husband and I LOVED this! I had a leftover french baguette from a party I hosted, and wanted to use it. I thought this sounded good, since it would soften the leftover bread and I could do it ahead of time. I was out of brown sugar so I omitted that, and I just sprinkled a tiny bit confectioners sugar on top (mostly for looks...) before serving with pure maple syrup. My husband said it was the best french toast he ever had. I froze the leftovers, and it was just as good reheated. I will definitely make it again and probably will continue to leave out the brown sugar since it was delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States