Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I have made this a number of times. The first time I followed the recipe and it tasted great. Since I make a few variations every time. LOL. Sometimes I'll throw some blueberries on top before baking or add a bit of grated nutmeg to the egg mixture or a bit of cinnamon sprinkled in with the brown sugar and butter. A very versatile recipe and a keeper in this household. Tomorrow I am going to slice an apple to put on top. YUMMIE!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was also skeptical from previous reviews (would it be too soggy?), but decided to give it a try for New Years Day. (We've started a tradition where we do a New Year's Day Dash, and while we're out running, our breakfast bakes in the oven, so this recipe fit in perfectly with our tradition!) I followed the recipe, with a few modifications: added cinnamon to the egg mixture (yum!) and omitted the pecans (allergy). I made the recipe around noon the day before, tossed it in the fridge, and cleaned up - very quick process (20 min max including washing dishes). The dish took about 50 minutes in the oven. The first 45 minutes, I had a glass lid on the Corningware dish and for the last 5 minutes, removed the lid to allow the top of the french toast to get golden and a little bit crispy. My only comment as a "watch for" is that our dish was too sweet. The directions say to "spoon" the butter/brown sugar/syrup mixture over the top before baking, I would recommend "drizzle" so that your dish doesn't get so sweet. Next year, we will keep the tradition from this year - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Super easy, super delish! It will be a family favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Made this recipe for Christmas morning and most everyone really liked it. I was looking for a traditional type French Toast recipe. After reading through reviews, I made the recipe as follows. I rubbed the pan with cold butter to prevent sticking. I used most of two 3/4 lb French loaves. I used so much b/c I tried different widths and slanted vs straight cut. Doing it again, I could get by with one loaf. I decided on 1 1/2 inch thick, slanted cuts, and filled up my 9x13 pan. Two inches was taller than the side of my pan and just didn't look like French toast. The French bread itself was very narrow. Next time, I may try a "fatter" bread. I mixed together 3 beaten eggs, 3/4 c. milk and 1/2 c half and half and poured this over the bread to soak overnight (and it soaked it all up). To save time the next morning, I went ahead and mixed together 5 T butter, melted, 1/4 c light brown sugar, and 1/2 T maple syrup. The next morning I reheated this mixture then poured over the French toast before baking. It did not completely cover all the breads, so next time I'll make about 1/4 more. I loosened the bread with a spatula to prevent sticking. I baked it probably a little more than 40 minutes, but in the rush of Christmas morning I can't be sure of the timing. Sorry! I served it with heated real Maple syrup in dipping cups. This was very good and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe. I felt the maple syrup and sugar was to thick and heavy when I spooned over the French Toast. Instead I added a little water to the syrup, mixed and spooned on. Be careful not yo make to runny. Broiled for 5 minutes befre stving. This was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have made this on several occasions, mainly for holidays and it always comes out nice. Even my picky boys will drop everything to eat it. Tonight, I am incorporating some of the leftover pumpkin pie filling that I always seem to be left with. It will add so much flavor to the egg/milk mixture. Just an idea for those of you preparing pumpkin pies the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I made the recipe as is minus the pecans (to avoid bothering those with nut allergies) for a baby shower...EVERYONE loved it! So easy to make, which makes it easy on you. I'm using the recipe again next week for a bridesmaid luncheon. Thank you for this submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was good. I did decrease the milk. I like my french toast kindda firm not soggy. This is perfect for a large crouwd at breaskfast or overnight guest. I will definately make again!!!!!!!!!!! In the future I plan make less of the liquid/batter to dip the bread. I only needed a half of a loaf and there was enough liquid to do a full french loaf i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Yumm-a-roo! Turned out fantastic, and so easy. I used chopped walnuts instead and LOVED it. My bf and friends declared this the best they ever had, I served with powdered sugar and maple syrup. It's sweet, but so so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Is it possible to ruin this?? I didn't have Texas toast, so I layered 2 slices of whole wheat bread. I didn't have half & half, so I substitued buttermilk. I forgot to add the milk in the mixture for the first few pieces, so they soaked up a lot of the egg, and the remaining pieces were VERY milky. I used a little non-stick spray because it was almost gone. It was FABULOUS!!! No sticking, not soggy--perfect! This will be a weekend staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Moyle Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States