Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Made this for a brunch and it was a hit! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is a family favorite and we make it on a monthly basis for an easy brunch. I find the egg/liquid quantities listed are more than necessary and make the bread overly soggy for our taste. I use half of the amount for the eggs, half & half, milk, and vanilla, and it is perfect for a moist but firm french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This was so easy to make it it tasted so good. We didn't even have to add any syrup or anything. It was so moist right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is crazy rich and so tasty. I buttered the pan and sliced the bread into 1" slices. Soaked the bread for 20 seconds or so and poured most of the remaining egg mixture on top once all bread was in the pan. All was soaked up the next morning. You must serve bacon, ham or sausage with it to compliment the sweetness of the French toast. All loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe last week. Was a bit skeptical as well. I generally don't soak french toast for more than a minute because i don't like it too soft. However, i had some bread slices that were left out and dried and needed to use them up so i figured, French Toast! I mixed the "soak" as directed but since i like it more on the firm side, I only put in 1/2 cup of the milk. I also added a bit of cinnamon. The next day i made the glaze. (again, was skeptical....i mean, i never glazed french toast before) but tried it anyway, baked it and served. Waited for the reactions and well....it was awesome! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYTESHADE74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this french toast for a recent birthday brunch- it was super easy and tasty (I was unsure about the whole make ahead deal) but nonetheless- 20 of my friends devoured this thing!! I add some cinnamon and cooked for a bit longer than the original recipe calls for...I couldn't tell you the exact time but enough time to let the bread firm/crunch up a bit...I wish I would have made an additional serving...everybody was asking for more! So so good...highly recommend and will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe for a family gathering of 24. I also made a few modifications. I cut the bread in slices and let them sit out to get a little stale, then I layered the dipped bread with pecans and cinnamon. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Ruggiero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this once for Christmas breakfast, and it was quite good! Loved the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsyagurlmaia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Toasted pecans before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made as directed sans pecans.. the dish just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States