Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
YUM-O! I made this for our Christmas brunch, and it was by far the favorite dish! Guests were talking about it several days later!!! I did make some adjustments: I used the whole loaf of French bread, instead of half - all of the other ingredients remained the same EXCEPT that I added cinnamon to the egg bath and sprinkled a little more on the bread prior to baking. I did use two 9x13 pans for the whole loaf, and then I poured the remaining egg mixture evenly over each pan after I had dunked and laid out my bread. In the morning prior to baking, I flipped the bread, baked for 20 minutes, flipped the bread again, added the pecan/maple syrup topping, and baked for the final 20 minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was everyone's favorite dish at our Christmas brunch. So easy, loved that it was make the night before. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great recipe! I actually froze it ahead of time and cooked Thanksgiving morning. I used a loaf of french bread and low fat 1/2 and 1/2. My only complaint was that the bread got a little hard and was difficult to cut. Great flavor though! Will make again, maybe adjusting baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
So yummy. Almost like a bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a good recipe, but they were still a little soggy. I took them out of the oven and cooked in a skillet until they were done to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zachandgagesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is actually my favorite breakfast. I make it pretty close to the instructions with only the following modifications... First I use a stick of butter and rub it all over the dish to make a nice slippery coat. I obviously don't use the whole stick, only about 1 or 2 tablespoons get used. Second I've done this with both French loaf as well as "Texas" style bread (thick) cut into slices..both work great. And finally, not only do I dip the bread I also pour the rest of the mixture all over before letting it sit. By next morning it is ALL soaked up! I usually serve it with frozen berries (thawed) mixed with orange juice and fine sugar in a food processor (I think somebody in here mentions it). It doesn't need it, but it's a nice cool fruity touch to a hot dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Pretty good. Topping was a little to thick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelclrk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Delicious. I used a baguette and it was perfect. Maybe a tad too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was an outstanding recipe. I turned the french toast over half way and they weren't soggy or anything. My daughter who prefers pancakes ate 3 slices on her own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The reason for the 3 stars was because it was much too sweet. I will have to find a way to cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States