Make Ahead French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a good recipe, but they were still a little soggy. I took them out of the oven and cooked in a skillet until they were done to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zachandgagesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is actually my favorite breakfast. I make it pretty close to the instructions with only the following modifications... First I use a stick of butter and rub it all over the dish to make a nice slippery coat. I obviously don't use the whole stick, only about 1 or 2 tablespoons get used. Second I've done this with both French loaf as well as "Texas" style bread (thick) cut into slices..both work great. And finally, not only do I dip the bread I also pour the rest of the mixture all over before letting it sit. By next morning it is ALL soaked up! I usually serve it with frozen berries (thawed) mixed with orange juice and fine sugar in a food processor (I think somebody in here mentions it). It doesn't need it, but it's a nice cool fruity touch to a hot dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Pretty good. Topping was a little to thick though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelclrk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Delicious. I used a baguette and it was perfect. Maybe a tad too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This was an outstanding recipe. I turned the french toast over half way and they weren't soggy or anything. My daughter who prefers pancakes ate 3 slices on her own!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The reason for the 3 stars was because it was much too sweet. I will have to find a way to cut back on the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
when my family tried this recipie they loved it and now every time we have brunch or family over we make it. and Iam a great cook so sometimesI get sick of making it LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Fantastic. I misread the recipe originally and risked cooking the pieces individually but it was still, according to one guest, 'the best french toast I have ever had'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe.. we enjoy it for Christmas Breakfast and Easter Breakfast, and I make it a lot when we have brunches at work. People always ask me for the recipe. One thing I do differently, though, is I use the entire loaf of French Bread. I use the 1-inch slices to cover the bottom, but then I break the remaining bread into 1-inch cubes, dip them, and cover the top with them. This makes it thicker and it looks more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This is the best breakfast I ever had! I will make it again and again! This recipe is delicious and you don't have to fuss in the kitchen first thing in the day. My recipe was a bit moist, but I poured all of the remaining egg mixture over the pre-saturated bread. Next time, I will throw out any mixture left in the bowl and breakfast will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States