Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Made this for the guys down at the firehouse and they all loved it. Made a few alterations though. Used 6 eggs instead of 4. When I was browning the sausage I added some fresh mushrooms and half of a yellow onion to the mix and sauteed them. Also I added half a pound of thick bacon. We love meaty breakfast. I also added a little extra of each type of cheese. Next time I make this I will add sliced jalepenos to spice it up a bit. Definitely recommend giving this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a really great recipe. It is versatile by allowing the cook to add whatever ingredients (meat, veggies) that is desired. That aside, it does have a tendency to come out a bit more running than most breakfast casseroles. To alleviate this problem, I use a 16oz bag of herb seasoned croutons. I also like my casseroles a bit more meaty and cheesy. Therefore, I use 1 pound of turkey sausage and 1 pound of bacon along with 16oz of shredded cheese. I also add a bit of paprika to the mix. The eggs and milk provide ample moisture for the crouton mixture to bake up moist but not soggy. As for execution, I mix everything except the croutons together and then mix in the croutons so that the add-ins are distributed throughout the casserole. Then I pour everything into a 9x13 baking dish. I take this casserole to MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) everytime it is my turn to cook and I never come home with any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
When preparing this dish I sauteed fresh mushrooms with onions and garlic instead of using the canned mushrooms. This dish is a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
My new favorite breakfast casserole. It has such a great flavor. I replaced all the ingredients (eggbeaters, LF milk, LF soup, LF cheese, turkey sausage) with their lowfat, healthier counterparts and it was delicious and actually pretty healthy when you change out those ingredints. I've already made it twice in 2 weeks. I can't wait to share it with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Kudos! I got rave reviews when I made this for a broker open house. Only change was I used fresh sliced mushrooms. I did an extra 2 eggs because mine were small and the pan was a tad larger than called for. Smelled wonderful cooking. Agents said that it had a great flavor and one who used to run a B&B said it was better than hers and not as heavy tasting. Great as a leftover, too. Make this and you will not be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This dish was awesome, or in other words DA BOMB! I recommend using Pepperidge Farm dry stuffing mix (cubes) and adding some crumbled bacon along with the sausage. Of course also, I recommend Jimmy Dean Hot sausage or Tennesse pride spicy sausage. Also, you can add whatever else you like to make it an even bigger success. I plan on added onions the next time and may make a small one for myself and a large one for my family to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
thanks for the FANTASTIC recipe! i served it at my baby's church dedication lunch and got rave reviews. the only changes i made were very minor and i 99.99% stuck to the written recipe. i did use another reviewers tip by adding more seasonded croutons. i think i maybe added 4 cups. i threw in some bacon and used sharp white cheddar and some swiss. i also used fresh mushrooms. it sounds like i made alot of changes, but not really. the seasoned croutons, spinach, and mushrooms were AWESOME! this is definately THE best breakfast casserole and so handy because you assemble it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
So many breakfast casseroles call for cream or half-and-half, which I never have on hand. But I ALWAYS have a can of cream of mushroom soup in the cupboard. For that reason, this recipe works really well for my family. I tend to use stuffing mix instead of croutons. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I took this to a church brunch & the flavor was great but it was kind of soggy. I'm afraid it needed more time to cook. I will be making it again Christmas morning & will see how it is w/ additional cooking time. I did make this again, adding an additional 15 minutes & it was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Big hit at our house. I omitted the small can of mushrooms because my husband doesn't like them. He knew the recipe called for mushroom soup but agreed to try it anyway. He had seconds today and I'm sure he'll have leftovers tomorrow. The seasoned croutons made a delicious crust and the presentation was attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States