Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was the rave of our Christmas morning -- my entire family devoured it, and kept eating the leftovers throughout the day. Based on other reviews, we used fresh mushrooms with which I sauteed some sweet onion. I also used swiss and white cheddar for the cheeses, because we prefer swiss with mushroom and spinach flavors over the Monterey Jack as the recipe was published. I upped it to 6 eggs, then it looked like it was going to be too much for my pan, so I added another can of mushroom soup, another cup of cheese, and split it into two pans -- one with sausage, one with bacon. I upped the temp to 350 and baked about an extra 15 minutes. They both turned out beautifully! Next time I'll look for a sausage spicier than the "country sausage" I used, otherwise will make just as I did this first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Perfect recipe! I did use one reviewers suggestion and added bacon. SO GOOD! I also would cut back on the spinach next time. I'm not sure if I didn't mix it enough, but there were some areas of the casserole that were a little too spinached out. :) I also brown the sausage with onion and used fresh mushrooms as well. It's easy to make-ahead for a no-fuss breakfast for guests...I just pop it in the oven and wait for the rave reviews to roll in. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very good..served it at a brunch and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My family loved this. I used regular Jimmy Dean sausage that I had on hand instead of spicy sausaage and then sprinkled a little red pepper flakes over the meat layer. It was perfect and I had more control of how spicey it was. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
this is a great recipe i made it for a party for work and EVERYONE loved it very easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this for a sunday brunch. Used some of the suggestions from others but tweeked it a bit too. Used 8 eggs not 4- used 2 - 5.5 oz bags of croutons. Added 1/2 lb of bacon and sauteed onions which I cooked with fresh mushrooms. Baked it for a little over an hour and it set up and held its shape well. I think the original recipe would be a bit runny without adding additional eggs and increasing the croutons. I would make it again in a minute....there was none left and received many compliments on the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made it several times....most times for meat eaters. On Sunday I decided to make it Vegan style, I just substituted the meat with Vegan meat crumbles, used "fake" egg whites (used 8 instead). I used the new shredded Vegan cheeses they now make. I also used fresh spinach & fresh mushrooms & sauteed them. I used extra croutons (about 3 cups) so it wasnt so runny. It came out wonderful! Even the meat eaters in the group loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Terrific! Super easy, and the make ahead aspect makes it a keeper! I used pepper jack cheese, sauteed fresh mushrooms, garlic/cheese croutons, ditched the mustard, and dusted the top with onion powder. (I had the baby pouched while cooking, so cutting onions was NOT an option!) After plating, I topped each piece with shredded Parmesan. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made this according to directions and was very disappointed. Far too much liquid and croutons turned to mushy globs. Won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Awesome! I have made other make ahead breakfast style casseroles and this is hands down the best one! Added 2 eggs, omitted the mushrooms and I used garlic croutons. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States