Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I've been making this for years. The first time, I made it for our office & used spicy pork sausage...it was a hit so I've used it every since. I have also made it with chopped canadian bacon and chopped, fully cooked link sausages such as smoked sausage or polish kelbasa. I have also added chopped onions &/or bell pepper to the pork sausage while browning too. I have never used ground beef but I think it would be good if you seasoned it very well. I have always said I am going to make it with several meats together, but just haven't done it yet. Hint, always use large size croutons (texas style) & the bottom will be more crusty and makes it easier to serve. It has since become my favorite to make for families when there is a death in the family. Everyone always takes food, drinks, desert but breakfast is often forgotten. Put it in a tin, cover with foil, and write the hitting directions on it and deliver. I also not on the foil that it reheats very well after cooking. For large families, I will usually make two and just do a different meat in each one in order to change it up. You don't have to pick up your dish later, and they can throw the tin away after consuming. Great recipe that you can easily alter to meet different needs & taste! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Gayer Blais

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Made this for my family and they loved it! I forgot to put the milk in and it still turned out great!! I added 2 extra eggs and almost 1/2 lb. of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I made this today for a group of friends for a breakfast birthday celebration. I read so many reviews and was concerned about the 'soggy croutons', so decided to buy sourdough bread (which I love), left the bread crusts on, and made my own croutons from a recipe on AR for sourdough croutons. I cut them in almost 1" squares. They came out really good. I obviously had to double all the quanities, and added bacon as well, extra cheeses (no Monterey Jack available locally, so had to use a mix of cheddar, Gouda and mozzarella). I was nervous about serving this to guests, having never tried it before, and after assembly, became even more concerned, as it did not look much like the picture, so even though I had already used many more eggs, I added about 6 more with extra milk. This morning, I baked the casseroles on 350F for about 55 minutes, and I was very happy with the outcome. No soggy croutons, but slightly like a bread pudding, which I saw one guest absolutely scraping out of the pan! Our guests couldn't stop telling me how wonderful it was. Will definitely make again, and will experiment with other ingredients. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is delish and fun to make! I added a pound of crumbled bacon. I used fresh spinich that I sauteed in a bit of bacon grease, then drained on paper towels. Then I browned the sausage and part way thru I browned fresh mushrooms. Because of adding the extras I used 6 eggs. This was loved by all at our Sunday brunch for just 4 and we are having left-overs for dinner tonight! I will be making this again. Very good! I served this with shredded hash browns and fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I made this for a girls weekend at the beach. For croutons I used Pepperidge Farm seasoned stuffing mix -- about 3 cups on the bottom and another cup or so sprinkled on top for crunch. I reduced the milk to 2 cups. I added about 1/2 cup chopped onion while browning the sausage. It took just over an hour at 325 to set up well, after being in the fridge overnight and left at room temp for about 30 minutes prior to baking. Everyone loved it! Be aware that this is more of a spinach casserole with some egg than an egg casserole with some spinach -- the spinach is defintely the standout flavor. I will make it again but would like to experiment with different bread bases, and next time I'll add more cheese. I also think it might be interesting to substitute crab meat for the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariekt21
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made it exactly how the recipe called for the most part. I didn't have ground mustard so I just put about a tablespoon of regular yellow mustard and added garlic and onion powder. It turned out perfect and delicious! Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
It was delicious! When I made it I thought it didn't seem "eggy" enough but I'm glad I didn't add more egg mixture. It cooked up perfectly & was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Big hit with our Easter brunch. Had some leftover ham I needed to use, so didn't bother with the sausage. It re-heats beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is great for a base recipe and nice that it can be made in advance. I tried it per exact recipe and was disappointed. The flavor was bland, but the second time I added more sauteed mushrooms and onions, a little ham, bacon and more cheese. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. 5 of us and there was never enough. So I make a recipe and 1/2. Easy and a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States