Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was not very good - I expected it to be much better than it was, with all the 5-star ratings. The croutons made it soggy and it was just not very flavorful. VERY spinach-y...I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was great. I've already bought the ingredients to make it again. We brought it with us on a trip as an "already done-pop it in the oven" thing so we could spend more time with our guests. The kids were a little leary about eating it but once they tasted it, they loved it. The 7 year old had 3 helpings. I left out the mushrooms and spinach b/c I wasn't sure if everyone liked it but I'm sure it would have tasted great included. I also used restaurant style croutons which were larger and pre-seasoned. They come in 6 oz boxes and that's just the right amount to cover the bottom of your dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Summit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
AWESOME!!! i brought this to my bible study meeting and it was gobbled up. i got so many requests for the recipe, i just collected email addresses to send them the link. I made this exactly as it is written and it was amazing. will def be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I modified this recipe and the casserole turned out to be very tasty and flavorful. I followed previous suggestions and omitted the croutons and cream of mushroom soup. I used 6 slices of frozen garlic bread, 6 eggs and 1 Cup half-and-half. The garlic bread gave the casserole lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Great casserole! I used plain sausage, potato soup & fresh mushrooms because that was what I had. I also doubled the eggs. Perfect for breakfast, lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very easy to make. I did not add the spinach since my family does not like it, instead added a bit of parsley. I also used spicy turkey sausage to cut some of the fat. I did end up cooking this dish for a extra half hour, it didn't seem to set up in the 55 min. called for. Overall, a very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Goulette Lozensky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this just as it is listed based on the rave reviews and got many compliments. I like the strong mushroom flavor given by the soup. I have found that Swiss cheese goes very well with mushrooms so I might try it using that another time. Definitely worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Made this for the guys down at the firehouse and they all loved it. Made a few alterations though. Used 6 eggs instead of 4. When I was browning the sausage I added some fresh mushrooms and half of a yellow onion to the mix and sauteed them. Also I added half a pound of thick bacon. We love meaty breakfast. I also added a little extra of each type of cheese. Next time I make this I will add sliced jalepenos to spice it up a bit. Definitely recommend giving this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is very similar to one that I make that is delicious! One thing that I do differently is I use cream of potato soup (instead of mushroom). It adds a nice little something extra, kind of like mini hashbrowned potatoes. (Also, my recipe doesn't call for spinach nor mushrooms.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bargersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Kudos! I got rave reviews when I made this for a broker open house. Only change was I used fresh sliced mushrooms. I did an extra 2 eggs because mine were small and the pan was a tad larger than called for. Smelled wonderful cooking. Agents said that it had a great flavor and one who used to run a B&B said it was better than hers and not as heavy tasting. Great as a leftover, too. Make this and you will not be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States