Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Awesome..I sauted my spinach first w/garlic and mushrooms, let it cool then added to egg mixture. I also added 1 can cream/mushroom soup and 1 can cream of potato. (i made for 20 servings) Next time I will use only cream of potato. And use turkey bacon instead of pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
thanks for the FANTASTIC recipe! i served it at my baby's church dedication lunch and got rave reviews. the only changes i made were very minor and i 99.99% stuck to the written recipe. i did use another reviewers tip by adding more seasonded croutons. i think i maybe added 4 cups. i threw in some bacon and used sharp white cheddar and some swiss. i also used fresh mushrooms. it sounds like i made alot of changes, but not really. the seasoned croutons, spinach, and mushrooms were AWESOME! this is definately THE best breakfast casserole and so handy because you assemble it the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Wouldn't change a thing. This was awesome. Recieved numerous compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Awesome recipe. I didn't have dry mustard but I don't think it made a difference. This was a bug hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Wonderful-- I made it for Easter brunch and the family loved it! Next time, I might try homemade whole wheat croutons so it will be more healthy. I used low fat sausage and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
i made it without the sausage and it was good, but I bet with the sausage I'd have given it a 5 star rating. Maybe next time I'll try some turkey or chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swarthmore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was great, although our guests kept describing it as a "quiche", which it does seem a bit more like than a breakfast casserole! I was very nervous about the croutons, but other reviewers are right - great flavor and texture! We sauteed fresh mushrooms with onions and garlic and added colby jack cheese instead of the 2 kinds of cheese, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this on Christmas Eve for Christmas morning. My family was tentative at first, but in no time raved that "it really is good." And, it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent! Everyone loved it, and was too full for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This is a really great recipe. It is versatile by allowing the cook to add whatever ingredients (meat, veggies) that is desired. That aside, it does have a tendency to come out a bit more running than most breakfast casseroles. To alleviate this problem, I use a 16oz bag of herb seasoned croutons. I also like my casseroles a bit more meaty and cheesy. Therefore, I use 1 pound of turkey sausage and 1 pound of bacon along with 16oz of shredded cheese. I also add a bit of paprika to the mix. The eggs and milk provide ample moisture for the crouton mixture to bake up moist but not soggy. As for execution, I mix everything except the croutons together and then mix in the croutons so that the add-ins are distributed throughout the casserole. Then I pour everything into a 9x13 baking dish. I take this casserole to MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) everytime it is my turn to cook and I never come home with any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States