Make-Ahead Baked Egg Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Going to try this recipe omitting the meat, using feta cheese, spinach and jalapeno peppers and baking them in muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Jean Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I have not tried them yet but at first glance I like the basic idea but I think the croissants are too high in fat. I would substitute with small bagels or English muffins and I would never reheat anything in plastic wrap. I would wrap it in parchment paper, then place them all in a plastic bag or freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jayne Murray Brewster
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This recipe came out great! I used English muffins and bacon. But, as another user said...endless variations! I will keep my freezer stocked with these for my teen boys, they rarely stop for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
These are delicious. I made two batches. The first with toasted English muffins, ham and Kraft American singles. I seasoned the eggs with salt, pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder. To toast the English muffins I split a dozen of them and toasted them under the broiler on a baking sheet. I thought they turned out excellent, though I did have to cook the eggs for about 16-18 minutes and not 8-10 minutes as indicated in the recipe. For the 2nd batch I used Pillsbury home-style biscuits and to the raw eggs I added a pound of browned, drained and cooled Jimmy Dean sage sausage and then baked the egg/sausage mix for about 15 minutes. Then I assembled them with a square of sausagy egg, a Kraft American single and the biscuit. Also delicious! I prefer the English muffin version, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was great and will definitely replace the ones I had been buying. I used egg beaters and egg whites, and put it on bagel thins, which worked great. I did have to cook the egg beater mix a bit longer to get it to set. I tried sausage and deli ham but deli ham definitely defrosted and tasted better. Next I'm going to try adding different veggies and things. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Buttery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Did not turne out whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These made a nice size breakfast sandwich. I also had to cook the eggs longer for them to set. I felt the proportion of eggs was too thick for a croissant sandwich (though probably good for an English muffin). If I make them again I will use 3-4 fewer eggs. I haven't eaten them yet. I will move them from freezer to fridge the night before and they can thaw more if needed on my hour commute to work. So I don't expect to have issues heating them. I marked the recipe down one star for the cost, I didn't find it a frugal recipe. But they are definitely handy and it was nice to choose the ingredients myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This recipe is a great starting point. For those who have problems with the egg, freeze the croisant w cheese and meat loosely so you can easily separate and toast in the toaster oven. I then simply crack an egg in a small salad bowl the size of the sandwich with a spray of no stick oil. Scramble egg with fork a couple of times and microwave for a minute. Stir a little with a fork to move the cooked egg toward the center and finish with another 30 secs. Voila! Fresh toasted sandwich with fresh scrambled egg! Note that microwaves vary a lot in power and you will need to find the right amount of time, but once you do, it's easy and relatively quick! You can also select whether you prefer you egg still slightly loose or hard set with this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
a little bit on the bland side but still pretty good. 10 min was no where near enough time though, had to cook the eggs for almost 20 minutes. I made two batches and with the second I added some milk in with the eggs, made it a little lighter and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States