Maja Blanca (Coconut Pudding) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good recipe, it is sweet so adjust the quantity of sugar accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Nice recipe. I made this as a double recipe for a large group. Did read the reviews and made some changes. I used milk instead of water and cutback 25% on the sugar (1/4c on a bubble recipe) At the party I presented this at was a man from the Philippines, and he said this was just about what his mother made back home. Nice compliment! He also said that quite often his mom would add a little coarse sugar to the top. He also like the creamier texture from using milk rather than the water. Next time I will use the full amount of the sugar as I felt that for a dessert it just needed a little more. Also I would use a bit more coconut on top and add some coconut extract to the mixture. Very quick and easy dessert to make. One other thing I would like to try with this recipe, leave out the corn and coconut topping and add some raspberries with a raspberry puree drizzled on top! Yummy sounding??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is my all time favorite filipino dessert. Finally, Im able to make it. The other viewer thought it was too firm, but I thought it was perfect. Didn't know it was so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I have never made maja blanca before and have no idea what the basic ingredients are except for coconut milk. So when I first saw this ingredient, I tried it out and it tasted so good - except it was not creamy enough for my taste. I know for a fact that substituting milk for a dessert yields to a creamier dessert so I used these substitutions from the base ingredients: 3/4 cup milk instead of water, 1/2 cup condensed milk instead of sugar, 1/2 cup of coconut milk to dissolve the cornstarch instead of water. I also used fresh adult coconuts, or niyog. Milked it first with 1 cup of tepid water for every 2 cups of coconut meat to make the "latik" and then 1 cup tepid water for every cup of coconut meat for the base of the maja blanca. It came out creamy but not overpowerly sweet. Added freshly grated meat of young coconuts and corn kernels to break the milky taste. INCREDIBLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One of my favorite, but dont know the receipe. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Made this today let me tell that this recipe is soooo easy and came out perfect!!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This is the exact recipe of what i remember maja blanca to be. Very easy to make, with simple ingredients, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
i tried many maja before this but didnt turn out well.... this one for me is better and taste almost near to the traditional maja i like.. thanks for the easy recipe and for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I can't believe how simple this was and how wonderfully if tasted. Decided to double this recipe at the last minute and was very glad I did. Everyone loved it and it was devoured! Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made this recipe twice already. The first time I did it exactly the way it is posted. I can honestly say it was good. Now, the second time I made it I didn't add the corn. I added little pieces of pineapples and cherries. When I say it was delicious it was amazing. I made one for work and everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States