Maine Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! My oldest got his first deer this year. The first recipe we tried was this one. The one modification I made was to shake the venison cubes in a mixture of flour, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders and quickly fry them in canola oil before adding to the pot. Then I deglazed the pan with beef stock and added that to the stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I am very impressed with this simple recipe. I didn't have venison or the browning sauce so I used beef and added in some spices and hot sauce. It is delicious! I think next time I will brown the beef separately to try and separate out the fat easier. I started this at night and put it on low overnight and waking up to these delicious aromas was heaven! I couldn't wait to dive in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was excellent and very easy to put together. I used parsley instead of the browning and seasoning sauce and omitted the peas. I served it with warm bread. The meat was very tender and flavorful. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very Autumn friendly. Simple and the slow cllking makes the venison sooooo tender. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sumiton, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was edible but not impressive. First off it was WAY too big to even come close to fitting in my crock pot, so unless you have a huge crock pot you need to halve the recipe. I had to transfer everything to a dutch oven and cook it in the oven. The "sauce" also didn't have much flavor, it definitely needs some more spices in there, and I think it would work better with a roux than the corn starch as a thickener. I'm going to keep looking for a good stew recipe, sorry but this didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I had to find a food to make that my husband who hates venison would enjoy. We ate it, and i said wow, you would never know this was venison. He said it is... Then scarfed down a huge amount of seconds. The only thing i did differently was that i added the juice from two cans of corn in the beggining, then the corn last with the peas and mushrooms.. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I only made a 1/2 recipe and it filled my crockpot, glad I didn't try to fit the whole thing in it. This is a good start for a stew but the taste was just very bland. Needs.... something, I just haven't figured out what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
UMMM! UMMM! GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nettie, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Cut some venison round steak and used that. Family raved about how it was the best stew ever!! DH ate 3 helpings and the teen who only tolerates my cooking ate 2 helpings. Will definately make again. Be sure that you have a LARGE crock pot or it will not fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
GREAT Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States