Maine Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
works with beef in place of the venison. Wonderfull recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Really good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A very good stew. I didn't have mushrooms on hand but will add them next time. I did not add the salt as we shouldn't have it, but a good amount of pepper. I think I will try a little less cornstarch next time and perhaps some fresh herbs. Other veggies in refrig. would be good to add - parsnips for instance. My husband was happy to have this tasty stew made using his venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used elk meat diced very small by the butcher. As for the veggies, I only used potatoes, onions, and carrots because I was in a hurry. I used chicken bullion dissolved in water as I did not have beef broth. It turned out great! I really liked the parts of this recipe that I did use, and if I have the opportunity to cook with venison or elk meat again, I'll definitely try to follow this recipe more closely as it already provided me with the basis for a really tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Buns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This was wonderful!! Will definitely make again. I make a seafood dip that has canned clams in it I always drain the liquid and freeze it for future use, this was the perfect recipe to use all that clam juice in my freezer, time to start collecting it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indio, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
It was my first time making venison stew (actually my first time cooking venison) and the stew tasted good. We added turnips, and left the peas and mushrooms out. We thought it could be fun to add more spices next time but overall tasted great. Venison didn't have a gamey flavor and was very tender. We cooked it on high for 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It cracks me up when I see someone deduct a star because the "venison" was tough. I could cook rubber in my crock-pot and it would be falling apart it would be so tender. I suggest anyone who has "tough" meat come out of their crock-pot...to get a new crock-pot. I have 4 crocks and I use the cheapest one the most...got it when they first came out. My meat is always fall-apart tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I personally did not like this dish. I am apparantley not a fan of venison. However, my Husband and his Dad & Uncles loved it. Followed the recipe exactly except for mushrooms. The meat was tender and moist. The sauce had plenty of flavor for my simple husband. (I did not eat anything but the carrots.) If we are ever given venison again, I will likely make this for the guys again, I'll eat other leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This turned out very well. I think it tasted better the next day after the flavors marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Excellent recipe! My oldest got his first deer this year. The first recipe we tried was this one. The one modification I made was to shake the venison cubes in a mixture of flour, salt, pepper, garlic and onion powders and quickly fry them in canola oil before adding to the pot. Then I deglazed the pan with beef stock and added that to the stew. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States