Main Line Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very good, and a very unique recipe. I already had cooked leftover chicken and was using freshly cooked beans, so I skipped the crockpot method and went stove top instead. Followed the recipe exactly in every other way and wouldn't change anything. I used home made mango salsa- 'Nicole's Mango Salsa' from this site. This recipe is not spicy hot though, so add in jalapeno's if you like it hot. Shredded Monterey Jack cheese, tortilla chips, green onions and sour cream to top finished it perfectly. Well done on your very original recipe, Mary. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delicious! Great flavor combinations and perfect blend of spicy and sweet. I didn't do the slow cooker version since I had left-over baked mango-marinated chicken breasts to use up. Substituted pinto beans for the kidney beans and skipped the rice vinegar. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Great chili. Not much kick to it, but I just add tobasco sauce after the fact since others in the family don't like things too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This recipe is so good! The best chicken chili I ever had! My hubby & son were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I want to thank all of you for your wonderful comments.! It means alot to me! Stay hungry!!! XOXOXO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennPitstop

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was a great chili to come home to after sitting out watching soccer in the cold. I used a rotisserie cooked chicken from the store for ease of prep, Cuban black beans and Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies. Garnished with pepper jack/cheddar cheese blend and avocado... I was in a rush and forgot to add the spices, but that turned out for the best since it was plenty spicy with the cheese, beans and tomato spices. Two adults, a 12 year old and an 8 year old rated this a 4-5 star recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I would add jalapenos and possibly a little cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Good chili. I used already cooked ground turkey, and much less, as there was plenty else going on in this chili. Very nice flavor with the mango salsa; it was a perfect addition and made me happy since I have leftover mango salsa! I added in a few more black beans since I had a little more than a can in the freezer. I also used the crockpot--left it on low all day and had dinner when we got home from work. Very easy and delicious. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Love this!! I was worried the hubby would have issues with this being a non-beef chili and he did mention it, but de didn't complain. :) Good stuff, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyndi r

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
While I thought this was "OK," my husband's opinion was quite the opposite. He thought our chili was too bean-y. Not being a fan of beans in general, he commented that even ten beans would be overpowering (I just can't win lol...). I am therefore basing my rating solely on what I thought of this since my husband is obviously biased. :) I guess I'm just a purist at heart. I prefer traditional (beef) chili with good texture, ample spice and a little zing to keep things interesting. This was by far the most unique red bean chili recipe I've ever tried (and it definitely had texture AND zip), but it just didn't WOW me. NOTE: Since it was not specified what type of salsa to use (i.e. the jarred tomato-based stuff or fresh), I opted to use my local Italian market's mango salsa. Their salsa is made fresh daily and contains NO tomatoes. It's a mixture of chopped mango, jalapeno, red onion and cilantro - that's it. I thought about purchasing a jar of Newman's Own mango salsa, but because I wanted to top my chili with it too, fresh was the way to go. Chopped cilantro and red onion (and a dab of additional salsa) were perfect garnishes. Serving our chili over a bowlful of cilantro lime rice made this a filling meal. I'm not convinced this should replace my go-to chili recipe, but am glad to have given your recipe a try nonetheless. Thanks and happy cooking, Mary! XXOO. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States