Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is a great recipe for people who don't like HOT wings. I didn't change the recipe at all, but I did change the cooking method. I marinated the chicken wings in the sauce for three hours. Then I lined a cookie sheet (with sides) with the new non-stick foil. I put the marinated wings on the cookie sheet and baked them for approximately 50 minutes. They do brown very nicely. I did not baste them. When the wings were almost done I brought the marinade to a boil in a large pot. I boiled it for about two minutes. I mixed 3 tbs. corn starch in a jar with some ice water, about 1/2 cup. Slowly mix the corn starch mixture into the boiling marinade until it is the thickness you desire. Adding the cold cornstarch mixture to the hot marinade keeps it from getting lumpy. I don't know why this works, but it does. (Also works for gravy). When the marinade is the thickness you desire, turn it off. When the wings are done, add them to the pot and mix to coat with the thickened marinade. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and serve. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I don't know why people change so much in a recipe the first time they make something and then rate it less than it should be! These don't need a change..they are yummi and gooey!! Take the freedom to be sloppy..and you won't be able to resist the finger lickin! One person mentioned cooking sauce seperately for basting...but if you fill your tinfoil lined pan with 1/4" of the sauce while baking the wings, you just baste with that..it's hot and yummy and available for dipping in the end. Husband loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Fantastic wings and loved by the whole gang. Did not have molasses in the house, which didn't seem to make a difference because they turned out great! I marinated for three hours, took the chicken out and broiled for about fifteen minutes to crisp them up, and then baked with the wonderful sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I made these wings and added 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 2 T vinegar and 2 T Franks Hot sauce and a dash of chili pepper. They turned out perfect like the ones at wingers, not hot but perfectly spicey!! Don't worry if your sauce is a little runny, it gets gooey when it cooks. I also did not bother re-bastinging the wings or turning them, but be sure to grease your pan! Better yet use foil over a pan and grease that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I used drumsticks instead of wings but first I skinned them to remove some of the fattiness. The only other change I made to the recipe was using a tbp. of chile paste instead of the sauce. I think it added some extra heat but we liked it! Ooop's there was one more change, I put the marinade in a saucepan & cooked it down some because you shouldn't use sauce you marinaded raw chicken in to baste with unless you cook it @ a higher temp to kill the bacteria. I reduced it some & then thickened it up w/ cornstarch mixed in cold water before basting the chicken. These were fantastic...like a spicy asian BBQ. Normally if I have leftovers, I either make something different out of them or send them home w/ my son but he is going to miss out on these ;o) ...we are going to turn around & have them for dinner again tonight. They are soo good! I served them w/ microwave corn on the cob (topped w/ garlic parmesan butter mix) & sesame green beans (both from this site) but I'll make different sides tonight to shake it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These wings were amazing. I made them for my Christmas party and there weren't any left by the end of the night. And I made a lot!! If you want them to be a little bit more spicy I suggest increasing the chili sauce. I cooked these on a baking sheet as opposed to a dish. I think they come out more crispy that way and I turned them once half way through cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Absolutely the best recipe ever for sweet chicken wings! I did add about 20 shakes of "hot sauce" to them too. My friend who doesn't like hot wings was blown away. He couldn't tell I had added it...he wants another batch tonight. I also used about 1--1 1/2 T. of powdered garlic instead of the garlic cloves. Cooked them for the 50 minutes at 375 and then kicked the heat down to 350 for another 20 minutes and the meat just fell off the bone. I did what another reader suggested...I fixed rice and poured the marinade over it...awesome! You have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
GREAT CHICKEN! The first time I made this, I found it to be very mild, so the next time, I baked the chicken IN most of the sauce and turned it frequently (every 10 minutes or so) and it was really flavourful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I am not a big fan of chicken wings, but these definately won me They were a hit at a recent dinner party. The marinade is incredible. I'm going to try it on ribs next. Only 1 suggestion, use a disposable pan to cook these on, I think I ruined mine! Excellent recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These were really good. Almost tasted like teriyaki chicken..which I LOVE!! I do not like wings, so I used chicken tenders. I didn't have any molasses and so I substitued maple syrup like a previous reviewer and left out the ginger since I didn't have any. I left the chicken in the marinade for about 8 hours and pan fried them in a little oil. I boiled the sauce to serve over rice. The sauce is very forgiving...especially when you leave out a couple of the ingredients. Thanks Christinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States