Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
These are really good. I don't even marinate them, I just put them in the oven on a tin foil covered baking sheet. When they start getting done I turn them and baste them several time with the sauce. I don't keep molasses or fresh ginger, so I use 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the molasses and powdered ginger in place of fresh. Then I put a couple of drops of tobassco for a tiny little spice. The is one of my most requested recipes for game day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Key, Florida, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The sauce is good, just a few tips: After baking the wings for 50 minutes in the oven, I then transferred them to a cookie sheet and threw them back in the oven for about 5-7 minutes. It gave them an extra crunch. I sprinkled sesame seeds to on top before serving as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I marinated the wings for about 5 hours before baking which really infused the flavor. Next time I will marinate over night. Changes I made due to preference was that I added siracha for head and omitted the honey. Seemed like the recipe had enough sweetness without. I thought the wings were delicisious but need to figure out a way to make the skin crisp. Mine were a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is good.. sweet and tasty... I would like a little bit of spice next time! good though... Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! My husband refuses to even try Buffalo wings so this was right up his alley. I baked mine on parchment paper on a jelly roll pan at 350*. No burning problem at all. Brought the remaining marinade to a boil and simmered for the 1st 25 minutes the chicken was baking. Then basted and baked another 25. Taking them to a party tomorrow if I can keep my husband out of the fridge. :) Will just wrap in foil and reheat. May take the leftover marinade as a dipping sauce. I know they will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is one of those recipes, that after reading a number of the reviews, you realize that seemingly everyone did something different! It was difficult to know which way to proceed with this. But I forged ahead and marinated my wings for 4 or 5 hours and when ready to bake I put them on a baking sheet. I boiled the leftover marinade for about 10 minutes to kill any bacteria and reduce it a bit. After the wings had baked about 20 minutes, I basted them and continued basting about every ten minutes. I also turned them over about half way through the cooking time. After 50 minutes my wings weren’t as crispy as we like them, so I broiled them on both sides to crisp them up. The flavor of the wings was good, but for me this recipe requires way too much babysitting. I would much prefer to bake the wings naked and then throw them on the grill and use the marinade as a basting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These were very good. I did a combo of wings and drumsticks on a baking sheet, used ingredients as is, and I didn't marinate, was short on time. Still tasted great. Next time though I will definitely marinate as it could only get better. Don't forget the wet-naps with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My daughter and I made these last night and we thought they were fabulous! My husband loved them also. We did have to change a few things because we either ran short or did not have. We added a small amount of teriyaki sauce as we were short on the soy. We did not have any chili sauce, so we used some red pepper flakes and hot pepper sauce. We definitely ended up marinated longer and maybe that is what makes them so good. I tried to keep brushing more marinate on while baking as well. I liked them so much I ate more than I normally do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States