Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe! My husband refuses to even try Buffalo wings so this was right up his alley. I baked mine on parchment paper on a jelly roll pan at 350*. No burning problem at all. Brought the remaining marinade to a boil and simmered for the 1st 25 minutes the chicken was baking. Then basted and baked another 25. Taking them to a party tomorrow if I can keep my husband out of the fridge. :) Will just wrap in foil and reheat. May take the leftover marinade as a dipping sauce. I know they will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is one of those recipes, that after reading a number of the reviews, you realize that seemingly everyone did something different! It was difficult to know which way to proceed with this. But I forged ahead and marinated my wings for 4 or 5 hours and when ready to bake I put them on a baking sheet. I boiled the leftover marinade for about 10 minutes to kill any bacteria and reduce it a bit. After the wings had baked about 20 minutes, I basted them and continued basting about every ten minutes. I also turned them over about half way through the cooking time. After 50 minutes my wings weren’t as crispy as we like them, so I broiled them on both sides to crisp them up. The flavor of the wings was good, but for me this recipe requires way too much babysitting. I would much prefer to bake the wings naked and then throw them on the grill and use the marinade as a basting sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
These were very good. I did a combo of wings and drumsticks on a baking sheet, used ingredients as is, and I didn't marinate, was short on time. Still tasted great. Next time though I will definitely marinate as it could only get better. Don't forget the wet-naps with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My daughter and I made these last night and we thought they were fabulous! My husband loved them also. We did have to change a few things because we either ran short or did not have. We added a small amount of teriyaki sauce as we were short on the soy. We did not have any chili sauce, so we used some red pepper flakes and hot pepper sauce. We definitely ended up marinated longer and maybe that is what makes them so good. I tried to keep brushing more marinate on while baking as well. I liked them so much I ate more than I normally do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Wings were Okay, not sensational though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
My family loves these wings. I usually marinate my wings overnight. I also pour the marinade in the pan with the wings and baste while cooking. The recipe is perfect as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Not liked by anybody in the house. The sauce flavor didnt seem to penetrate the chicken. A true waste of chicken wings. Good thing I made a batch of our "normal" wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was a great addition to a wing platter I brought to my friend's house and everyone must have liked them...the platter was empty! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States