Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am making these for the second time. I am not doing anything different to it except I don't brush my meats in their own marinade. Besides I don't think it needs it. The juices from the chicken can be poured off into a sauce pan and mixed with cornstarch to thicken it up and use for a dipping sauce. Otherwise its good as is. 10 stars for it! Delish :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Faaaan-TASTIC. And so easy! I didn't even let mine marinate because I was starving, but I'm sure it would have been even better had I let it sit in the sauce. I made some modifications because we had five pounds of wings and my hubby wanted chicken tenderloins for his portion, so I altered the quantity of the sauce. (I baked everything together at 375 in a 9x13, and when I flipped the wings halfway through, I simply removed the tenderloins at that time and they were juicy and perfectly cooked.) I thought the sauce was missing something at first, so I added a little ketchup and a touch of Worcestershire sauce until it was perfect. I put everything in a 9x13 with 3/4 of the sauce covering the wings / allowed the wings to swim in the sauce as it baked, then at the halfway point when I flipped the wings, I added the remaining 1/4. Perfect! Juicy, tender, and I think baking it in the sauce really helped keep the chicken moist. Using the remaining sauce the chicken baked in as a dipping sauce for the tenderloins was awesome. 5 stars! Oh, and for the people who were leaving the molasses out, it simply will NOT be the same recipe, in taste nor appearance. That's the mahogany aspect of the mahogany chicken wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was abig hit with the harvest crew this year. my only suggestion is cook the wings in the marinade then you dont have to worrry about basting them, and add corstarch so that it is a bit thicker that way, when it coats the wings it stick to them a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Okay seriously, my husband adoooores chicken wings and I can take em or leave em. I made these last night, and I only wish I had more room in my tummy. They tasted just wonderful - I wouldn't change a thing - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I now make these all the time when I have peopel over...always a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent wings recipe. Perfect balance between sweet and spicy. You can vary the ingredients depending on how hot you like your wings. I removed the wings from the oven after 30 minutes and finished by grilling them on medium-low heat for ten minutes to crisp. Nice recipe. I'll definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I love the sweet and sour flavor. I didn't have chile sauce so I used chili poweder instead. It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
These wings were really tastey. However, I couldn't bare to use the left over marinade as a dipping sauce...much too sweet. Although to my surprise, that extreme sweetness did not over power the wings I would make this again...but altered by way of cutting down on the honey and molasses. I loved the color of those wings. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Sooooo good! I followed the cooking directions and then about 5 minutes before they were done I made a dipping sauce using soy sauce, honey, molasses, chile sauce, garlic and brown sugar. Used corn starch/water mix to thicken it. Wonderful dish! My kids want me to make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe is amazing!!!! I used chicken thighs and pan fried them until the skin was crispy, mixed the sauce ingridients and added that to the skillet of chicken and cooked on low until done. Also I added an additional 1/4 cup of honey, only because I didn't use low sodium soy sauce and it was a bit too salty. The extra honey solved that and it was delicious! Added some chopped scallion and sesame seeds for the finish and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States