Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ok, am really beginning to see this recipe as a community effort. I actually read thru about 3/4th of these reviews today, then made what I came up with, keeping everyone's comments in mind. True the sauce is forgiving if you have to make substitutes, but bottom line . . this is a great recipe!! I was looking for a great SuperBowl recipe for this Sunday and decided this was going to be it. I was out of honey so followed the recipe using maple syrup and molasses. It sounded important to thicken the sauce, so I just made the sauce first, thickening according to suggestion with a little cornstarch stirred into ice water. I used half for the initial marinade and the second half to glaze the chicken when I put it into the oven. Pamming and foiling your cookie pan is important. In the oven, I turned the chicken twice, glazing with the sauce each time, and in 50 or so minutes, the chicken came out beautifully done, extremely tender and flavorful. I didn't especially want mine to taste Asian, but I know that I like gingerbread, so I thought, how can I miss with molasses and ginger? But I cut back on the ginger to 1/8 teaspoon. And I liked someone's suggestion to add a little orange juice to balance the molasses. I am here to tell you that doing these things, there was no distinct flavor of molasses, ginger, soy sauce, garlic, no distinct anything, only amazing flavor that held in the chicken juices, so it was incredibly tender. Will be doing this on wings for the Superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just made these....didn't have molasses, subbed maple syrup, but still delicious. Broiling to get them crisp is a must! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I have 8 of my own recipies for wings that whomever tries them says they're the best wings they've ever had. I tried these and they taste identical to my own favorite recipe but much less lebor & time intensive to make. These have replaced my own favorite recipe that I've been making for almost 30 years. That's saying a lot. Definitely give them a try, you will love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Wonderful sauce. Reminiscent of Hoisen sauce. I believe it needs more ginger and garlic than called for; but then again, I think nearly every recipe needs more ginger and/or garlic. I'm a big fan of ginger & garlic. ;-] Additionally I added about 3 tablespoons of fresh orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ransomedheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
my concern is that you're basting the chicken wings with sauce that raw chicken marinated in...I put the leftover marinade in a saucepan and bought it to a boil before I basted my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley P.
Living In: Cambria, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Just made the marinade....used lite soy sauce and used a bit less then called for; had to add extra chile sauce, brown sugar, a little onion powder, cayenne pepper, and some red pepper flakes to get it just right for us...tasty so far. I'll update after we bake them. Baked in a bit of the sauce, which never got "gooey", so poured that off, boiled some on the stove w/cornstarch added, brushed on wings and put under broiler for about 5 min's. Perfect!! With the (very minor) tweaks we made, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and these were absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catwoman1011

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regensburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent. I doubled the recipe and marinated the wings overnight in the sauce. I then baked on a cooking sheet for about 30 minutes to cook off some of the juices so as not to thin out the sauce. Then I threw the wings and sauce in a crockpot for a couple of hours. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These were pretty good. Almost like a honey bbq, but not quite. Not the best wings I've ever had, but good. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
don't like buffalo wings so i thought these were great but to add a little heat i added pureed chipotle peppers and a 1/4 cup orange juice reduced by half I use it for dipping sauce for any meat I reduce it all and if i want it be thicker just add a little corn starch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States