Mahogany Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I prefer to use drumsticks and thighs so we can make a real meal out of this yummy recipe. I now bake the chicken in a jellyroll pan. The shallow baking pan allows the outside of the chicken to crisp up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTWOMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
We loved these- great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8BARRSTREET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These wings are excellent! Loved by both my husband and daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Awesome wings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These are amazing!!!! I let them marinate all afternoon and wow!!! Definitely recommend them to anyone and everyone... even those who aren't a big fan of wings, like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Wings were delicious! I, too, thickened the remaining sauce and simmered it to use as additional sauce after baking them. They were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Cooked these for SuperBowl party ... used 2 tablespoons of Frank's Sweet Chili sauce instead of recipe chile sauce and did not add honey ... sweet and spicy wings were a hit ! Also good for leftovers....serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Made these per the recipe except used chicken breasts cut into 1X3 strips (husband doesn't like wings). They had a very nice flavor. Followed the directions, think next time I'll reduce the cook time if using breasts, they were a little on the dry side. The sauce remained watery but that worked well as I served the chicken w/the sauce over rice with soy sauce on the side. The chile sauce left me stumped, didn't know if it was heinz (ketchup w/chili pepper), mexican (green or red chiles) or asian (rooster sauce). I used rooster sauce since the recipe called for ginger, it was sweet w/a little kick which we all liked. Step son had 3 servings and he eats like a bird! Think next time I may add some chopped onion, would be a nice addition if making it this way. Thanks for the unique and awesome marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ok, am really beginning to see this recipe as a community effort. I actually read thru about 3/4th of these reviews today, then made what I came up with, keeping everyone's comments in mind. True the sauce is forgiving if you have to make substitutes, but bottom line . . this is a great recipe!! I was looking for a great SuperBowl recipe for this Sunday and decided this was going to be it. I was out of honey so followed the recipe using maple syrup and molasses. It sounded important to thicken the sauce, so I just made the sauce first, thickening according to suggestion with a little cornstarch stirred into ice water. I used half for the initial marinade and the second half to glaze the chicken when I put it into the oven. Pamming and foiling your cookie pan is important. In the oven, I turned the chicken twice, glazing with the sauce each time, and in 50 or so minutes, the chicken came out beautifully done, extremely tender and flavorful. I didn't especially want mine to taste Asian, but I know that I like gingerbread, so I thought, how can I miss with molasses and ginger? But I cut back on the ginger to 1/8 teaspoon. And I liked someone's suggestion to add a little orange juice to balance the molasses. I am here to tell you that doing these things, there was no distinct flavor of molasses, ginger, soy sauce, garlic, no distinct anything, only amazing flavor that held in the chicken juices, so it was incredibly tender. Will be doing this on wings for the Superbowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by designgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just made these....didn't have molasses, subbed maple syrup, but still delicious. Broiling to get them crisp is a must! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States