Mahi Mahi with Coconut Rice and Mango Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I bought 3.5 lbs of Mahi Mahi and made this for a Caribbean-themed dinner party. The only thing I did differently was make a fresh fruit salsa to accompany the fish, which one of the other reviewers suggested. The entire dish was devoured and people kept sneaking off to the kitchen to pull more rice out of the bottom of the pan. They loved the fish and they loved the rice. Since I was feeding 12, I made the entire rice batch and it was gone. If you are feeding four, it is a lot of rice to make. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Easy to make and delicious I made it with fish for the grown ups and a second batch with chicken cutlets for the kids... It went over great!..the only change I made is that I added some diced red peppers to the mango salsa to give it some color...tasted best when you used a bed of rice then put the fish on then topped it off with the salsa...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe is wonderful as is...no changes needed! I was worried that it would be too sweet and I was unsure about using soy sauce with fish but WOW what an awesome surprise just the perfect mix of flavors, my husband and son are not fish fans but even they said this was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Followed recipe as written and felt it was almost too spicy (and I like spice!) that it took away from the Mahi Mahi flavor. That being said, I would make it again, but will cut back on some of the spice. Otherwise, I thought the marinade was great, and will actually consider using this same marinade on other meats. Used store bought mango salsa for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hitchcock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
made this last night and loved it!!!! i found the rice slightly too greasy, so i will probably be using a little less butter next time. the mango sauce is exquisite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angiepangie24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good-nice combination of flavors. I doubled the marinade because I had larger pieces of fish and it was hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
really delicious!! .. local fish store was out of mahi so i got grouper instead..i wanted to take it up a notch with flavor so i tweaked it a little bit.. i left out the red pepper cuz im a wussy but i added 2 tbsp pineapple juice, 1 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp dijon mustard and extra garlic to the marinade and it was delicious.. served it with a mango/avocado/tomato/lime/cilantro salsa and my fish hating boyfriend said "this has changed my mind about fish" !! this will definitely be in our regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEENZ MACHINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
That was the best Mahi Mahi we have ever had! My husband liked it so much he was finding reasons to take the fish of our girls' plates. 'Hey, what is that?' 'No Dad. I'm not falling for that one.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Amazing! Easy to make and a delicious twist that makes the fish pop with flavor! A must have recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This dish is so good and pretty simple. I only used half the red pepper and it was just the right spiciness. I recommend doubling the mango. I just thought more mango with each bite would have made it even more perfect. Man oh Man this was sooooo good. I felt like I was in a Mediterranean restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tyaya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tilapia with Mango Salsa

A simple fresh mango salsa takes grilled tilapia straight to the top!

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Grilled Mahi Mahi with Spicy Mango Sauce

See how to make a quick Thai-influenced fish dish on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States