Maharani Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Copiously unique! I'm the only reviewer of this recipe so far and I was excited to take my first bite. The combination of flavors were unbelieveably harmonious, especially if you like exotic flavors of the East and the Tropics. You will be delightfully surprised by this cupcake! Definitely NOT for the faint of palette! I used Duncan Heinz butter recipe yellow cake mix. For the frosting: 1 Tbsp of mild curry, 1 tsp of coconut extract and 4 cups of powder sugar in total and it was plenty. Next time, I will dice the flaked coconuts to reduce the stringy texture. Used only 1 stem of the basil and it perfumed the frosting perfectly. It is a process, but I believe it will be a recipe you'll want to use when you want something that can only be experienced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Each individual part of these cupcakes is very good: the coconut cupcakes, the curry lemon curd and the basil cream. Together though, the taste was a little bizarre. I enjoyed eating it, though I didn't want to have another one. I guess I don't like my desserts to taste like dinner. However, the coconut cupcakes are the best I've ever had. I made them again and made a frosting of 1 part cream to 2 parts powdered sugar- whip until desired consistency and add orange blossom water or jasmine flavoring to taste. They were to die for this way and I served them at a party...people were begging me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I also made these for an Indian-themed dinner, and they were quite a hit. I must admit that I toned down some of the more intense tastes...only 1 T curry powder, and just a few basil leaves in the whipping cream. The cupcakes looked beautiful - I scooped out a plug from the top of each cupcake and filled with lemon curd, then topped with the slice of cupcake that I removed. Then I spread some more lemon curd over the top, with the whipped cream over that, but not quite covering it all of the way. Over that, I sprinkled toasted coconut, and topped with a sprig of very small basil leaves. Great presentation, unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Well, I really appreciate the creative combination of flavors. 2 tablespoons of mild curry, however, was waaaay too much. Next time I'll try 1 teaspoon max. The curd did not set much. Next time I'll heat it on the stove top where it's far easier to watch it thicken. The basil cream topping I made was lovely and subtle. But I only used 2 leafy 'stems' of basil- about 20 total basil leaves. I suspect a full bunch would be far too overpowering. I'll try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These are so exotic and excellent. My mom came by as I was preparing the basil cream topping and she tasted a bit. She was horrified that I was making such a thing, but I told her to be patient and wait for the final result. You need to experience all the flavors at once, not individually. Well, once she tasted the finished cupcake she was sold. These will surely impress friends. I would say that the amount of basil called for might be too much...I used one bunch and it is VERY strongly flavored. I would say just one or two leaf/stems would work just fine. You want the flavors to subtly mingle and the basil is a tad overpowering at this point. For the Lemon curd I used only half a teaspoon of curry and it is PERFECT. Very delicious and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I liked the curry curd and thought it went very well with the basil cream. However, as good as the basil cream was, the frosting was too sweet. I would cut the sugar back by at least 1 cup. I also had a ton of the frosting leftover. I beat my egg whites and folded them into the cake batter. The cakes were lighter but they still have the distinct taste of a mix. Overall a good cupcake to serve to friends with a more adventuresome palate. Thank you for sharing mkecupcakequeen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The best cupcakes I have ever had. Takes time but well worth the time. Do the lemon curd and basil cream the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So unusual and delicious. Very interesting flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe is amazing - I've made it for friends, relatives, and coworkers and have yet to meet someone who doesn't like them. I followed everyone else's recommendations and only used 1 Tbsp of curry and it turned out great. You will have a ton of curd left over, but the good news is that it freezes beautifully and makes future batches a cinch. However, do NOT listen to other reviewers' suggestions to cut down on the powdered sugar - it changes the consistency of the frosting and makes it really runny. I cut the frosting recipe in half and still had some left over. These cupcakes also do well as a mini-cupcake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These cupcakes are amazing! Used the Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, Meyer lemons off our tree, and reduced the curry to 1 tsp. When I tasted the lemon curd I thought it was still too much curry but when you have all the flavors together they are delicious! We had an Indian-themed birthday lunch at work and everyone raved about dessert! I took everyone's advice and made 1/2 the recipe of curd and frosting and it was plenty for the dozen and a half it made. Thanks for expanding our palate's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States