Maharani Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
i was very hesitant to try these but am i glad i did! These cupcakes are so unique (in a good way). I made these for a summer party and I also made regular coconut cupcakes with a custard and frosting. After and hour these were gone and I had to take leftovers of the others home! I did modify the recipe for my own tastes and per other suggestions though. First of all I made a coconut cake from scratch (i never use box mix). Second, for the lemon curd I used regular curry and only put in about 1 teaspoon. That was more than enough for my taste. I would recommend starting with less and adding as you cook it if you so desire. Third, for the frosting i used a bit more cream cheese and way less sugar. I always add sugar as i go to any frosting and stop when it is sweet enough. Everyone agreed the basil frosting was the best part! I strongly recommend everyone try these, if you're scared just make a smaller batch (and then wish you'd made more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So unusual and delicious. Very interesting flavor combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were delish!! I made them for an indian themed dinner club and they were the hit of the party. All the flavors (coconut, lemon, curry, and basil) meld together wonderfully to create a "party in my mouth" as a guest said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These cupcakes are delicious and do have the distinct Indian flavor. I used 1/2 of the Sweet Curry Lemon Curd and 1/2 of the prepared Sweet Basil Cream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I tried making these for a gathering the other night. When I told people what I brought at first they were shocked, but everyone was won over when they tried them! Thank you for posting such a delicious and creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
sooo delicious! My friends and I did a weekly dinner where we picked a country and each made food from that country. I chose this as the dessert for our India night and had different people from the group each make a different part. Then end result was beautiful and delectable. Everyone went gaga over these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
The best cupcakes I have ever had. Takes time but well worth the time. Do the lemon curd and basil cream the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Copiously unique! I'm the only reviewer of this recipe and I was excited to take my first bite. The combination of flavors were unbelieveably harmonious, especially if you like exotic flavors of the East and the Tropics. You will be delightfully surprised by this cupcake! Definitely NOT for the faint of palette! I used Duncan Heinz butter recipe yellow cake mix; 1 Tbsp of mild curry, 1 Tbsp of coconut extract and 4 cups of powder sugar in total and it was plentiful. Next time, I will shred the sweetened flaked coconuts more to keep the taste, yet not so pronounced in texture. Used only 1 stem of the basil and it perfumed the frosting perfectly. It is a process, but I believe it will be a recipe you'll want to use when you want something that can only be experienced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe is amazing - I've made it for friends, relatives, and coworkers and have yet to meet someone who doesn't like them. I followed everyone else's recommendations and only used 1 Tbsp of curry and it turned out great. You will have a ton of curd left over, but the good news is that it freezes beautifully and makes future batches a cinch. However, do NOT listen to other reviewers' suggestions to cut down on the powdered sugar - it changes the consistency of the frosting and makes it really runny. I cut the frosting recipe in half and still had some left over. These cupcakes also do well as a mini-cupcake version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
These cupcakes are amazing! Used the Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix, Meyer lemons off our tree, and reduced the curry to 1 tsp. When I tasted the lemon curd I thought it was still too much curry but when you have all the flavors together they are delicious! We had an Indian-themed birthday lunch at work and everyone raved about dessert! I took everyone's advice and made 1/2 the recipe of curd and frosting and it was plenty for the dozen and a half it made. Thanks for expanding our palate's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States