Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was superb!!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Out of necessity, I had to use 5 chicken thighs that I poached beforehand. Added a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and kept the thighs whole. Added the broth from the poached chicken as needed, and salt. Since I prefer food with substance, didn't blend and added some fresh green beans. This was absolutely wonderful. Not one spice overpowers the other one. I did add 3 cloves garlic but again, I'm a garlicholic. You can taste the individual spices and they add different levels of flavor to the dish. Wow! again, a great new Indian recipe for us Indian food lovers! Served w/"Indian Style Basmati Rice" from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
It was pretty good after a few minor changes. First, I added salt, since the recipe didn't call for any. Then, I found it to be a little too tomatoey, and spicey, so I added about a cup of plain yogourt, which did the trick. Also, when pureeing it, I would advise you to puree the onions and cumin first, cuz the cumin seeds stay whole if pureeing with the tomatoes. Also, I used beef pieces(for stir fry), and sauteed them a bit in the pan before adding the rest. It came out really good. I loved the flavor of the spices together. Served with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent with basmati rice and naan bread! I used a 28oz can of whole peeled tomatoes. Tossed them in the blender with the onion mixture and added some of the juice from the can to help thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The flavors don't blend very nicely. Tastes like chicken in tomato sauce. Try the Tikka Masala recipe, it's much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Sakowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Never knew how to make curry, and I didn't realize how easy it actually was. I threw mine together using a 15oz can of diced tomatoes and used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. I too, like another reviewer, am a garlicaholic. I actually had a blender handy and pureed it real quick, and it turned out great! I threw it on top of some whole grain rice and it made a great meal. Also, when it says simmer gently, I’d recommend placing a lid partway over it. The sauce is thick making the bubbles bigger causing it to splatter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent! and easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I like the spiciness of this recipe and its authenticity. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added) and skipped the pureeing. Made it much simpler, and I preferred the consistency. I also appreciate that this is a low-fat meal. Not having to brown the chicken is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish tasted good but I think it needed more spices, maybe more garam masala. It tasted a little too close to spaghetti sauce. But we still enjoyed it. Changes: I used 1 large onion, 2 14-oz. cans of diced tomatoes, and added mixed vegetables to it at the end. I'll probably make it again but with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Was craving something South Asian, but easy, which I think is hard to find. This was perfect and simple to make. I didn't use a blender cause I'm lazy, and as long as you don't mind chunky it was still good. Only problem was it wasn't spicy enough for me. I'll probably change that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
A very tasty and easy to make curry. I made the garam masala fresh: yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States