Maharaja Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was superb!!! Thanks so much for this recipe. Out of necessity, I had to use 5 chicken thighs that I poached beforehand. Added a 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and kept the thighs whole. Added the broth from the poached chicken as needed, and salt. Since I prefer food with substance, didn't blend and added some fresh green beans. This was absolutely wonderful. Not one spice overpowers the other one. I did add 3 cloves garlic but again, I'm a garlicholic. You can taste the individual spices and they add different levels of flavor to the dish. Wow! again, a great new Indian recipe for us Indian food lovers! Served w/"Indian Style Basmati Rice" from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Excellant flavor. Didn't blend the ingrediants like the recipe said to. I felt lazy that day. I think I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
tastes great1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Excellent with basmati rice and naan bread! I used a 28oz can of whole peeled tomatoes. Tossed them in the blender with the onion mixture and added some of the juice from the can to help thin it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Very, very good!! I also chose not to blend the ingredients. Think I like it better as I can not envision blending making the dish better. Used a large can on diced tomatoes instead of fresh. Served over brown rice. Also served chickpea curry (found on this site) as a side. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Very good. My husband sad it was the best curry I have made. He did request that I use a bit more tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Was craving something South Asian, but easy, which I think is hard to find. This was perfect and simple to make. I didn't use a blender cause I'm lazy, and as long as you don't mind chunky it was still good. Only problem was it wasn't spicy enough for me. I'll probably change that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Not that great... I live in London mind you and am used to awesome curries. It was too spicy and rather flavourless for my liking. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I like the spiciness of this recipe and its authenticity. Instead of using fresh tomatoes, I used two cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added) and skipped the pureeing. Made it much simpler, and I preferred the consistency. I also appreciate that this is a low-fat meal. Not having to brown the chicken is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Very easy to make. I will use less cayenne next time. It is spicey. I used coconut juice instead of water. Very yummy! I serve mine over broccoli or spinach with paneer cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States